Skip to content

paper slice star garland

June 30, 2011

Partly because I was in the craft zone from my previous art project with paper and partly because I had a lovely driftwood branch stashed in the garage (!) with which I had done nothing at all (drooping head in shame), I made up a nice little star garland to commemorate July 4th in home sweet homemade style.

These cute little chubby stars (inspired by the little collage I framed last weekend) are made from 100% disposable paper sources (junk mail), as are the paper beads adorning the ends. 

I borrowed an idea from uber-creative blogger Carolyn at Carolyn’s Homework to decorate the garland string with tiny snippets of fabric scraps.

My original intent was to use another recycleable material to connect the stars together (strips from a cellophane bag), but I am going to have to work on refining that idea.  The first attempt was, well, not so great.  Cotton string is so much nicer.

Happy July 4th from Cristybella and me!  Enjoy a cold drink out on the patio and contemplate the stars🙂

.

.

Linking to

Share the Love Wednesday at Very Merry Vintage Style
It’s a Party at A Creative Princess
Motivated Monday at Be Colorful
Tuesday to do at The Blackberry Vine
Wow me Wednesday at Ginger Snaps
Just Something I Whipped Up at The Girl Creative
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Not So Simple Housewife
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring
Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage
Hodgepodge Friday
13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2011 1:40 am

    Once again, my friend, you made me go….

    “Ahhhh….how faaaaaabulous!

    I just adore the use of the driftwood! And the star garland is tre’ brilliant! Love the fabric beads too. They’re so cute!

    I love how it all looks together in that final photo.

    I know I’ve said this like a BILLION times, but your home is so fresh, airy and comfortable-looking.

    Have a wonderful 4th of July weekend, dear friend. I’ll be thinking of you when I have my evening glass of red wine.

    Cheers!

    X to you and Cristybella!

    • July 1, 2011 3:12 am

      thank you Ron, you are just the absolute best blog friend ever🙂 we both send our love & hope you have an awesome July 4th – I’m certain that you must have one of the premier locations in all of Philadelphia for viewing fireworks. xoxo

  2. Deneen permalink
    July 1, 2011 2:00 am

    Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving a nice comment. I have enjoyed yours also!

  3. July 1, 2011 3:12 pm

    This looks like an “anthro” piece. I could see it hanging in a shop. I love the way you used natural materials. I’m a big fan of driftwood. So sculptural. Great job. Thanks for visiting and leaving such a nice compliment on my blog.

  4. July 1, 2011 3:34 pm

    You come up with the coolest stuff! And it all has your personal style stamped on it!

  5. July 5, 2011 2:41 pm

    What a great idea!!! The stars are just wonderful! If you get a chance, I’d love for you to share this at the Tuesday To Do Party!

    http://blackberryvine.blogspot.com/2011/07/tuesday-to-do-17-and-16-list-makers.html

    Smiles!
    Jami

  6. July 6, 2011 7:18 pm

    Super charming~ I am loving paper garlands and yours is so sweet as you have it displayed! Thanks for sharing at FNF🙂

  7. July 13, 2011 6:14 am

    grazie per aver visitato il mio blog!
    grazie per avere una nuova amica che mi ha fatto i complimenti!!!!
    bellissimo il tuo blog e le tue creazioni!!!!
    un bacio!!!!
    ANNALISA (ROMA)

  8. July 14, 2011 5:56 am

    Thank you so much for linking this up! I love it! So cute! Perfect for my first blog party celebrating the 4th of July!

    I’m hosting my first ever weekly blog party and it starts today! It is called {re}create into something new! So please link up anything that you have reinvented, repurposed, recycled, revamped, reused, reorganized or redone! http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com/2011/07/recreate-into-something-new-blog-party.html

    Thanks again!
    Kaitlin–The Not So Simple Housewife
    http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com

  9. July 17, 2011 10:15 pm

    Ooh fun. I’m so glad you showed us some close up shots so we could see all the fun details in those stars. Thanks for sharing on Motivated Monday at BeColorful
    Pam

  10. August 24, 2011 10:51 pm

    Beautiful–great way to use all your scraps!
    Thanks for linking this post up to Share the Love Wednesday!
    Mary

Trackbacks

  1. water inspired gift enclosure « home sweet homemade
  2. the simplest things « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

