Skip to content

organic stamping

July 2, 2011
by

a custom canvas for my long awaited collage project is on the way.  I’m intending for it to be a much larger scale variation of this prototype.  In the meantime, I’m preparing some stamped paper to include in the mix.  I loved the look of color layered over the black and white printed paper I used for my recent love prints collage, so this is just a variation on the theme.

however, even though I was in pursuit of some geometric shapes, I didn’t want to purchase traditional rubber stamps.  Leaning back on my preference for a looser, organic feeling in the spirit of home sweet homemade style, I opted to go another route.  I remembered making stamps from potatoes when I was a little girl at summer camp , so I figured I could find some objects around the house that would have a nice edge and some pleasing geometry.

and this is what I came up with.

monochromatic color printing over repurposed black and white printed paper 

I used nail polish — who would have thought?  But it works brilliantly for this purpose.  Great color saturation with just the tiniest hint of relief in the color application.

and the stamp applicators?  Water bottle caps, a toothpaste tube cap, and a spare button.  

Using the squared off button was Cristy’s idea and I love the quasi-textile look the pattern achieves.

I’m hopeful that this will work alongside my other paper selections.  Just in case you can’t tell, I’m very anxious to get started🙂

Thank you for dropping in and hope you are having a lovely day!

.

.

.

Linking to

It’s a Party at A Creative Princess
Fridays Unfolded at Stuff and Nonsense
Show and Share Friday at Just a Girl
Hodgepodge Friday at Its a Hodgepodge Life
Will see it Wednesday at Fabric Bows and More
Wow me Wednesday at Ginger Snaps
Amaze me Monday at Dittle Dattle
Masterpiece Monday at Boogieboard Cottage
Just Something I Whipped Up at The Girl Creative
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 9:22 pm

    I love the idea to stamp with nail polish! I’m visiting over from funkyjunkinteriors. I’m hosting my first ever blog party and its all 4th of July-all Red, White, and Blue! I’d love for you to link up and share with me!

    http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com/2011/07/4th-of-july-link-party.html

    Hope to see you over at my place soon!
    Kaitlin
    http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com

  2. July 3, 2011 3:03 am

    Okay, you are just about THE most creative person I know!!!

    OMG….I’m sitting here eating my dinner; shoveling forkfulls of food in my mouth while trying to scroll down to see all these awesome tips!

    Diane…this craft truly blows me away! Love your use of water bottle caps, toothpaste caps and buttons to create your stamps. And the nail polish? BRILLIANT!

    Yes, I do remember using potato’s to create stamps when I was a kid!!!

    Can’t WAIT to see the finish results!

    Hope you’re having a FAB weekend!

    X to you adnd Cristybella!

  3. July 3, 2011 2:58 pm

    Good morning, and thanks for your visit! I think I was just looking at your site when you were commenting on mine! I LOVE America Martin’s work. Unfortunately she is out of my price range at the moment, but I am hoping to rob a bank this afternoon, or win the lottery, or ……I don’t know, but I would so love to live with one of her paintings. So glad you enjoy my findings!!

  4. July 4, 2011 3:30 pm

    This is so neat! When I first saw this, I thought you used toilet paper tubes. Bottle caps? What a great idea! That never even occurred to me, but we certainly have enough of them lying around. I wouldn’t have thought to use nail polish either. I love it. I want to create a number of different wall hangings for my daughters’ new room and I’m definitely going to need to file this away and give it a shot.

  5. July 6, 2011 11:01 pm

    Love these stamps. They are really pretty when used with celery as well:)

  6. July 15, 2011 2:05 pm

    Nail Polish: the perfect “art medium”. It’s something we’re familiar with and know it sticks like crazy and won’t come off anything–except toenails. Great idea and nice looking project.

  7. September 1, 2011 9:13 pm

    Nail polish, what a brilliant idea!!! There are so many cute colors to choose from! Thank you so much for linking to It’s a Party!

Trackbacks

  1. collage nested in an old door « home sweet homemade
  2. wine cork stamps « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

