Skip to content

water inspired gift enclosure

August 13, 2011

we’re attending a baby shower today and even though we did purchase a gift for this mommy-to-be rather than making one (couldn’t pass up the cutest ever ruffled pink cupcake skirt & top) I did make a tiny little homemade trinket to enclose with the garments.

inspired by a hand painted pendant my own mother gave me when I was a little girl.  I keep it in an antique tea-party dish in the bathroom with tiny sea glass pebbles and look at it every day.

This is my version, made of gentle hues of mixed paper.

The gift recipient might want to hang it from a lamp, or doorknob or Christmas tree.

Just for good measure, I made a few more, embellished with seashells.

and a few hearts too….you can never have too many hearts.  I love the lacings looped through the single button.

Happy weekend to all and thank you for reading 🙂

.

.

.

Sharing with
White Wednesday at Faded Charm Cottage
{Primp} Your Stuff at {Primp}
Get Your Craft On at Today’s Creative Blog
Running with Glitter
Tuesday’s Treasures at My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia
One Project at a Time Tuesday at A Bowl Full of Lemons
Nifty Thrifty Tuesday at Coastal Charm
Tuesday Inspiration Board at Homework
Just Something I Whipped Up at The Girl Creative
Motivated Monday at Be Colorful
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Masterpiece Monday at Boogieboard Cottage
Sunday Showcase at Under the Table and Dreaming by Stephanie Lynn
Think Pink Sundays at Flamingo Toes
Sister Sunday at Sisters of the Wild West
Nifty Thrifty Sunday at Nifty Thrifty Things
Sat Nite Special at Funky Junk Interiors
Social Saturdays at Day & Age Design
Summer Lovin’ Soiree at Homemaker in Heels
15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 3:58 pm

    And yet, another fab creation by the Talented Diane!

    OMG….that is so cute. And I love how you tie wrapped it to the bag – what a great touch!
    They’re gonna LOVE it!

    “Does everyone else do this? It just doesn’t seem right to generate a volume of waste in gift wrapping that exceeds the volume of the gifts themselves.”

    *hanging head*

    No, I don’t. But ever since reading your blog, you have made me soooooooooo much more conscious about recycling in other ways. Thank you for that!

    Have wonderful time at the baby showers today!

    X to you and C!

  2. August 14, 2011 4:54 am

    That’s adorable! Thanks for sharing.

    Here via Sisters of the Wild West

  3. August 14, 2011 10:23 pm

    I love this! I need some fish ideas!

  4. August 14, 2011 11:43 pm

    Yes, I think it was 20 minutes ago. 🙂
    I think I’m very partial to the stars, but they’re all great! I think the angelfish would look great hanging somewhere that the baby could see it every day.

  5. Clair permalink
    August 15, 2011 1:57 am

    I love the hearts…wondering if I could purchase some of them for my grand-daughters holiday tree? Each holiday she has a pink little tree in her room at my house and she and I decorate it together. It is so fun. Usually we make crafts together but I love your hearts. I would love to have some for Valentine’s day for her.

  6. August 15, 2011 9:25 pm

    Hi Diane-

    I am excited to find another Texas blogger-
    and I too was featured at Amy’s Authentic Style event.

    Your post was wonderful-
    and YES- you do have a style!

    Laura
    White Spray Paint

  7. August 16, 2011 2:54 pm

    Soooo cute…that darling little fish is my fav!!!

    Blessings,
    Linda

  8. August 16, 2011 9:36 pm

    Lovin’ the paper works!
    Michael

  9. August 17, 2011 8:50 pm

    These creations are fantastic!

  10. August 18, 2011 4:57 pm

    The fish is ADORABLE!! Wonderful job, Diane.

    Visiting from White Wed. at Faded Charm ~ hope you’re having a lovely week.

    Hugs,
    Marie

  11. August 20, 2011 1:33 pm

    These are so beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing at last week’s link party. I have featured your project this week. Please stop by and check it out! 🙂

    Jamie
    day-and-age-design.com

  12. August 20, 2011 5:00 pm

    LOVE IT! I hope you will link up to Scrappy Saturdays linky party @ candacecreations.blogspot.com

  13. August 22, 2011 3:28 pm

    FYI featured your fun and inspiring junk mail fabulousness today on Motivated Monday
    Pam

Trackbacks

  1. recycled paper packaging « home sweet homemade
  2. the simplest things « home sweet homemade

Leave a comment