Skip to content

recycled paper packaging

August 25, 2011
by

through the magical goodness that is Facebook, I’ve had the happy chance to connect, as an adult, with school friends of my youth.  One of these marvelous individuals is a creatively talented woman and a grandma to two beautiful children. 

I’ve been meaning to send her some woven hearts and keep procrastinating.  For no particular reason – procrastination never has a good excuse.

But this evening, I needed to make a homemade card for a colleague, a note of condolence.  And while I had my scissors handy, I created a sturdy packaging envelope to ship off the woven hearts for my friend and her granddaughter.

I used light cardboard from an empty box, my favorite crackers, actually, and cut off the sides and bottom flaps.  I left 1 top flap on the front piece to make the envelope fold-over.

Then I punched holes all around and threaded string through them to secure.

It’s certainly not a new concept, making homemade postal packaging, but it is definitely friendlier to the environment to re-use waste paper for another purpose.

Easy easy and I know the home sweet homemade gesture will bring a smile to my friend’s face.

Thank you for dropping by ~ it brings joy to my heart🙂

.

.

.

Sharing with
Nifty Thrifty Tuesday at Coastal Charm
Hodgepodge Friday at It’s a Hodgepodge Life
Delightfully Inspiring Thursday at Delightful Order
Catch a Glimpse at A Glimpse Inside
Time to Party at 36th Avenue
Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage
It’s a Party at A Creative Princess
2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 3:43 pm

    Maaaaaaavalous creation!

    Diane, I LOVE the threaded string!

    How cool and creative is that!

    You are so inspiring to me about being more recycle conscious.

    “It’s certainly not a new concept, making homemade shipping packaging, but it is definitely friendlier to the environment to re-use waste paper for another purpose.”

    Brava!

    Have a wonderful day, my friend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  2. Marty Davis permalink
    September 25, 2011 7:21 pm

    I love it! And I’m also surprised the USPS took it because string catches on their machines and they have rules against string on anything. (There went all that twine my father-in-law saved since the Depression.)

    I hope it made it okay!

Leave a Reply

