Skip to content

quilt inspiration

August 17, 2011

I’ve been paying attention to quilts recently and paying even more attention to the quilts in our linen closet – the ones made by our grandmothers.  The patterns, color arrangement and stitching.

I’m attracted to the beauty of quilts because of the underlying combination of mathematics (geometry) and art.   There is an unstarted paper project in my future that involves the bottom portion of the antique door I used in a previous artful project and as I work through the design in my head, I’m turning to quilts for inspiration. 

Ann Williams, the author of Hill Country House, recently shared this photograph of a room interior of her friend’s home.  The beauty of this quilt (to me) surpasses even the beauty of the room’s other truly fabulous appointments.

It’s something about the quilting heritage that resonates.  Memories of chilly nights and piles of quilts on the bed.  The faint fragrance of the cedar trunk.  The loving fingerprints from generations past that pieced and sewed.

Lately I learned about barn quilts.  I realize it’s not a new concept, just new to me.  This project of adorning barns with traditional quilt patterns is a beautiful way to honor the art of quilting and the historical and architectural significance of barns dotting the landscape of rural America.  This image is from barnquilts.com (alternatively, click on the photo).

In the process of learning more about quilts, I’ve found some awesome quilting bloggers whose accomplishments with textiles are absolutely gorgeous.

1) Faith, who authors Fresh Lemons Quilts.  Her blog is full of remarkable projects and collaborations.

2) Splendorfalls

3) the Purl bee (an awesome collection of all sorts of handmade crafts)

4) Quilt While You’re Ahead

Finally, I discovered a treasure trove.  Via the magic of internet, the work of Anna Velez appeared.  She makes quilts from paper.  They are beautiful works of fine art and I’m completely speechless.  It is as if the angels above are breaking into a joyful chorus.

I’m not really any closer to the goal of solidifying this targeted project of mine, but the sources of inspiration are abundant.  Too abundant not to share.

Enjoy – and thank you for dropping by🙂

.

.

.
Sharing with
Fridays Unfolded at Stuff and Nonsense
Share the Love Wednesday at Very Merry Vintage Style
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Nifty Thrifty Sunday at Nifty Thrifty Things
Sunday Showcase at Under the Table and Dreaming by Stephanie Lynn
Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage
Catch a Glimpse at A Glimpse Inside
Strut Your Stuff at Somewhat Simple
Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage
It’s a Party at A Creative Princess
36th Avenue
13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 11:20 pm

    Yes! I heard those very same angels when I saw that barn!
    My grandma quilted up until she just couldn’t get out of the house anymore, she made a quilt for each of my older children, but the two still at home didn’t receive one. Doesn’t that just make you sad? It does me. We have one of her quilts here at home but it is well used. Don’t know how I could divvy that up as to give one to each.

    Quilting is a beautiful art, I hope we never see it fade away.

  2. August 18, 2011 1:25 am

    I just love quilts too! So strange that I never ever made one for me but only for other persons🙂 They all were just finished the last minute with nights full of work and no sleep ^^ So short in time that I never could take pictures (or some of them I made before I had my digi cam).

    If I would start to make one for myself… I would also have a big problem to decide how it should look like…! It is somehow easier for other persons, I think. There just is a feeling about colours and images which seems to fit. But I am doing mostly patchwork with straight lines and then some freeform… some painting, some stitching, some printing, some quilting…

    How about looking around your rooms, your most beloved clothes, pictures, landscapes… and try to get all this into your design?

  3. August 18, 2011 2:57 am

    Diane, every single one of these quilts are STUNNING!

    I LOVE the colors of the quilt directly below the barn photo. Holy cow…they’re so brilliant. And the geometic shapes are amazing!

    I also love that last one too. It almost looks like a holy relic of some kind – just gorgeous!

    And yes, a dear blogging friend of mine posts photos of all the various quilt barns in her area of the country. She lives in Iowa, and apparently they’re very predominate there.

    Quilts are an amazing art form!

    Thank you for sharing these. Thoroughly enjoyed!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  4. August 18, 2011 12:28 pm

    I love barn quilts. I learned about them about a year or so ago. Aren’t they just fabulous? I’d love one for a back patio or something.

  5. August 19, 2011 3:00 am

    Now I not only want a barn, I want one with a quilt on it! Those are some truly beautiful works of art.

    I have a quilt my great great grandma made. It has tulips on it, and I love it. It’s one of the few things I’d try to save in case of a fire.

  6. August 19, 2011 2:47 pm

    What a beautiful collection of images. Love the barn quilt–that’s new to me as well, but I’ve certainly enjoyed what I’ve seen so far!

  7. August 20, 2011 2:19 am

    My goal this winter is to learn to make quilts, fun colors and soft materials.

  8. August 22, 2011 1:53 pm

    Welcome to quilting… one warning is incredibly addicting, but therapeutic, celebrational, and joyful at the same time! I haven’t actually seen a barn quilt in person, but share the same love of color and texture that you are discovering! Can’t wait to see a glimpse of your project!

    Also, if you are interested there is a big Quilting Stuff giveaway (going on for 3 months) over at Stash Manicure (http://www.sewwequilt.com). I’d be happy to sponsor you as a Wantobe Quilter so you can try your hand and winning some goodies to get you started!

  9. August 22, 2011 8:05 pm

    Quilts make me so happy and it is getting close to quilt weather!

  10. August 22, 2011 10:42 pm

    Hi Diane – Just wanted to thank you for your kind comment on my post about gift wrapping with security envelopes. If you do a patchwork version, please let me know! Speaking of patchwork, I was excited to see this barn quilt picture. We were just in Iowa visiting family and my husband’s aunt and uncle were telling us about them!

  11. August 22, 2011 11:01 pm

    I loved this post! I used to quilt and sure wish I had the time to start again. I may just have to take the plunge and do it! Thank you so much for linking up to It’s a Party!

  12. August 24, 2011 4:26 pm

    Beautiful, beautiful quilts! I am not a huge quilt-girl {even though they are so en vogue right now!} but I love the stories behind them! I especially love the modern tone to you have featured from Fresh Lemon Quilts. Lovely!

  13. August 24, 2011 10:50 pm

    Wow these are fabulous! Thanks for linking this post up to Share the Love Wednesday!
    Mary

Leave a Reply

