Skip to content

authentic style – home sweet homemade

August 12, 2011

When I started my wordpress blog about 10 months ago, I was fortunate enough to navigate to a dozen or so  wonderfully composed blogs that celebrated stylish expression in the home.  Amy, at Whisperwood Cottage, was one of these bloggers.  Her own very stylish home appears to be a true reflection of Amy and her husband Ron; it is their personal life story expressed within the walls of their home.

And right now, Amy is hosting an Authentic Style series party to highlight the way that other bloggers express their personal styles through their homes.

It made me start thinking.  Do I even have a style?

Most of the time I think it’s sort of a cross between adult ADD and cobble-together-what-I-already have.  I really like so many things (the ADD part) and would much rather not buy any more stuff until I exhaust the possibility of maximizing the use and function of everything already here.

A lot of our furniture is second hand, from consignment shops, craigslist or plain old hand-me-downs.   I’m striving to mix it together in a way that looks comfortable and pleasant.  Every single  room is still in progress.

Some of the furnishings are well used, but still perfectly fine.  Maybe a new shade of lipstick might help.  I can relate to that.  And  then there are some things in our home born from my imagination.  Unique in all the world.

collage-door2

So perhaps this is my own style.  A mixture of antiques, old stuff, artful homemade creations and putting a pretty new dress on an old piece of furniture.

In every room there is something homemade, something cobbled together, touched with a layer of love.

Day by day we arrange this house comfortably, in a way that, like Amy’s, strives to reflect our taste and functions to complement the way we live.

And of course, honors our deep love of Texas.

More and more, the name of this blog, homesweet homemade, is about the way we all express our lives throughout our homes.  Myself included.

Blogging has been a blessing.  It is a creative channel that never stops delivering inspiration.  Thank you to some of the wonderful bloggers that help fill my cup of inspiration continuously.

Amy, Whisperwood Cottage
Sarah, Modern Country Style
Suzanne, Meridian Road
Joni, Cote de Texas
Ann, Hill Country House
Pamela, Be Colorful

I heart all of you!

.

.

 .

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2011 4:20 pm

    I’m a Texas girl too, so I’m especially partial to the TX flag 🙂 Your home is beautiful!
    I’m your newest follower!

  2. August 13, 2011 1:10 am

    First, I can’t believe you’ve had this blog for 10 months already – WOW!

    Second, I laughed so hard when I read this…..

    “Most of the time I think it’s sort of a cross between adult ADD and cobble-together-what-I-already have.”

    I LOVE the words you chose because I would have to say, that my sense of style could be summed up like that too!

    Sort of eclectic.

    But I guess that’s why I’ve been telling you for these past 10 months how MUCH I adore your sense of style!

    It’s undefinable and unique!

    The thing I really love about your style is that’s it clean, simple, airy, and so CREATIVE!

    You ROCK, girl!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

    P.S. love that photo of the sofa and table!

  3. August 13, 2011 3:24 am

    I heart you, too, Diane! Such a beautiful and well-written post. You and your style are truly authentic. With every photo above, I had to stop and appreciate the beauty of what you created. It has such a homey, welcoming feel. Thank you so much for sharing your Authentic Style at WWC. 🙂

  4. August 14, 2011 6:34 am

    Another Texas girl here. I heart authentic style and yours is great!

  5. August 14, 2011 9:48 am

    I made one of those branch/jewel hangers too! I use that as wall art and my kids laugh…I said it’s cheap…lol…I also add tissue paper flowers on them or a small table top quilt for art too….or tea towels with my granddaughters names sewed on them hanging in our bedroom…stop by Mel’s Designs from the Cabin sometime for a visit and leave a comment so I’ll know you came by…Mel

  6. August 14, 2011 11:51 pm

    I think you definitely have a style! Maybe Global eclectic with a touch of rustic? Or would that be natural? I don’t know what you’d call your style exactly, but it’s yours, and that’s the important thing.
    P.S. I heart you, too!

  7. August 17, 2011 1:55 pm

    Wow, what a beautiful home you have…I especially love the art you have created…the window with the striped collage, the branch with the bobbles…stunning 🙂
    You have an amazing “clean and collected” style. Love it! Thanks for your sweet comment on my “little angels”. Chat soon, Laurel

  8. November 3, 2011 7:42 pm

    Oh you do have style girl and may all your rooms be always in progress!

Leave a Reply

