Skip to content

santa’s elves

December 12, 2010

I love wrapping presents.  Not that I’m particularly good at it, but I love it anyway.  The activity involved with gift wrapping is a big part of my own Christmas joy.  One tiny detraction from that joy is my difficulty with bows.  I’ve never been any good at making a bow so I use curling ribbon.  Every. Single. Year.  mmm hmm, it’s tired.

Once in a while, I imagine that the bow fairies might have bestowed their magical abilities on me and I’ll give it another try.  But no.

That’s why I was so delighted to read this post on the perennial favorite design*sponge, about gift embellishment alternatives to ribbon.

The photos below are indeed my own gifts, with ideas leveraged directly from the creative design*sponge team.  With the exception of the envelope-style wrapping and the collage-ornament package enhancements–both my very own creations.

Simple and uncomplicated.  The adornments are merely buttons and jingle bells.

And I tucked a little collage tree decoration into each.  Just because I made dozens of them.

The package adornments on the next two are a little homage to Anthropologie.  Circles of paper (or fabric) folded in half with small holes punched through both halves, then threaded randomly onto a strand of rafia (or string) and scrunched together.   I read a post on Life as Pepin where she provides a helpful tutorial to more accurately achieve the Anthropologie look.

I think the tartan one is masculine enough for my brother’s taste.  Also, the fabric circles scrunch together in a more pleasing way.  I just used fabric scraps.

The little envelope (how-to here) is perfect for small gifts–earrings, gift card, or handmade remembrance trinkets.

Wishing you merriment as Santa visits your hearts and inspires joy through gift-giving (and gift-wrapping!!).

.

.

.

sharing with–
Wow me Wednesday at Ginger Snap Crafts
Share the Love Wednesday at Very Merry Vintage Style
Tuesday’s Treasures at My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia
The Inspiration Board at homework
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Nifty Thrifty Sunday at Nifty Thrifty Things
Sister Sunday at Sisters of the Wild West
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 1:52 am

    *clapping and cheering loudly*

    OMG Diane…these are the best, and I mean the BEST Christmas wrappings I’ve EVER seen!!!!!

    So original! So charming! So faaaaabulous!

    These are so beautiful, they’re a ‘gift’ all of their own. I would hate to unwrap them!

    Don’t ya just LOVE Anthropologie?? Their flagship store is here in Philadelphia and it’s soooooooo beautiful! I’ve often highlighted their jewelry, houseware, and clothing on my review blog.

    You did such a wonderful job, my friend!

    A+

    Hope you had a great Sunday!

    X to you and C!

    • December 13, 2010 3:05 pm

      Thanks Ron, you’re so generous with your support, always make me feel good about my little projects. You and Cristy both. Oh, you should see what she’s working on – a very sweet mosaic tray. It’s her first try at mosaic and I’m so impressed with her work. Hope you had a nice weekend despite your super busy schedule. hugs xoxo

  2. December 13, 2010 5:11 pm

    That envelope package is AWESOME! I love it! They’re all so creative, and so fun~no one could just rip those packages open.

    • December 14, 2010 6:44 pm

      Thank you Suzanne! I just love that little envelope package too. And so now I’m wanting to make about a hundred or so. Hope you had a fabulous time in NV!

  3. Corina Vasquez permalink
    December 14, 2010 1:44 am

    I have to say it, over and over again. You are one super talented lady! Everything you make has so much beauty in it, no matter how simple it is. I also love wrapping gifts, even if mine are simple and boring. Fred makes sure the edges are straight, the tape is neatly tucked in under the edges, and I am over the Quality Control over the ribbons and the bows. This entire process bring us joy and cheer and we celebrate the gift wrapping day every year with our favorite Christmas wine.

    • December 14, 2010 6:50 pm

      Hi Corina, thank you dearie! I can so see how Fred would be very meticulous and precise with the cutting and folding, like an engineering project. This just makes me smile to think of you two wrapping gifts together and selecting a wine particularly suited for the occasion. Hope Santa is nearly finished with his gift selections for your house. Look forward to seeing you soon! xoxo

  4. December 14, 2010 9:16 pm

    not particularly good at it, my asssss! you are a fantastically creative wrapper! i LOVE this.

  5. December 17, 2010 7:38 pm

    What lovely presents. I have to admit, no one has ever given me anything but a very boring wrapped present. I guess it is what’s inside that counts.

  6. December 19, 2010 10:37 am

    Okay, now I feel bad about my wrapping for my children that I did last night!!! These look GORGEOUS!!! Really lovely.

    Yes, please, I’ll take the lot of ’em!!

    Saraahx

  7. December 5, 2011 2:33 am

    I love your creative and Fun style of wrapping paper.

  8. December 5, 2011 11:02 pm

    great ideas – I believe a gift is all about the presentation🙂

  9. December 14, 2011 2:30 pm

    oh my goodness. thanks so much for the shout out!!! i was going thru my traffic sources and found you!🙂 even after you left me such a sweet comment! thanks again!!!

  10. December 22, 2011 4:16 am

    Featuring YOU tomorrow on my blog. Thank you so much for sharing at my {wow me} wednesday party last week. Have a very Merry Christmas!

    Ginger @ gingersnapcrafts.com

Trackbacks

  1. collage nested in an old door « home sweet homemade
  2. santa’s elves II « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

