Skip to content

the gifted blog

September 25, 2011

Later today I’ll be going on a short trip to visit my mom and before I started packing my own suitcase, I packed up a little gift for her.

 

And it’s so coincidental because today I received a quick note from a blogger that I admire, Charissa, author of The Gifted Blog.  She told me she had featured one of my previous gift wrapping projects.  Her blog is a constant source of inspiration for clever and lovely ways to adorn presents.

So after I wrapped my mom’s gift in my own signature paper envelope style wrapping, I decided to dedicate this post to The Gifted Blog for the never ending stream of ideas for inspired gift wrapping.  Thank you Charissa!

 

 

Don’t tell my mom, but the package contains a pretty pair of earrings that I know she’ll love.  And I think she’ll like the wrapping too.  This style of gift wrap is suitable for anything that’s rather small and not too bulky or heavy.

If you’d like to try it for yourself, here are some easy instructions, although I suspect the photo above is rather self descriptive.

First, start with a single sheet of decorative paper.  My go-to source is the Sundance jewelry catalog.

 

I trimmed about 1 inch from both of the long sides then folded it into lopsided thirds, with the lower third slightly larger then the top portion.  This is the basis for the envelope shape.

 

Next we’ll adhere the edges of the outside edges of the lower section with a quick stripe of glue and cut a free-form decorative trim for the envelope flap (the upper portion).

 

Next let’s punch holes around the edge for our tie-ribbon.  We’ll need 8 holes.  3 along each side and 2 more along the bottom edge.  The top hole on each side should punch through all three layers of paper.  This will allow the tie ribbon to secure the flap.  Insert your ribbon of choice, with the leading edge headed down the upper right hole, as shown, leaving the envelope flap free.  Next thread the end of the ribbon up through the hole below it and proceed around the envelope, clockwise.

 

Finally, thread the two ends of your tie ribbon up through the holes in the envelope flap.

 

The only thing left to do is place your gift inside, close the flap and tie a bow with the two ends of your ribbon across the top of the envelope flap.

 

How totally easy is that?  Takes less than 5 minutes and it’s so much more economical (not to mention eco-friendly) than purchasing yet another gift bag.

Thank you for reading today!  I’ll be joining you again when I return from my visit.  Take care🙂

.

.

.

Sharing with
The Inspiration Board at homework
Tutorials and Tips at Home Stories A2Z
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Nifty Thrifty Sunday at Nifty Thrifty Things
Sunday Showcase at Under the Table and Dreaming by Stephanie Lynn
Sister Sunday at Sisters of the Wild West
14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2011 7:12 am

    Super cute and creative! Can’t wait to use!

  2. September 25, 2011 8:27 am

    Diane, I’m totally hooked on your post. Gift wrapping is really a part of the present itself.
    I used to make the effort to wrap parcels creatively but somewhere along the line I lost the impetus to carry it on. Now I’ve seen your very special way of making a simple present look attractive I’m going to change my ways. I will also chase the link to The Gifted Blog.

  3. September 25, 2011 2:04 pm

    these are so pretty and a beautiful presentation for a gift.

    i received my gift by the way and i love every thing i received. you are a lovely and talented lady. thank you for sending these awesome creations to me. now lets talk about that Ghiradelli box…somebody had some brownies and didn’t share🙂

  4. September 25, 2011 2:54 pm

    Hi Diane-

    I love clever ideas like this. I have made envelopes like this, but always glued the sides. This is so much easier and cuter.

    I am going to link this up to my DIY Daily page on my blog.

    My best- Diane

  5. September 25, 2011 3:16 pm

    Diane, your wrapping is AMAZING!!!!

    OMG…how clever and beautiful! It’s like a piece of art in itself!

    And I must chime in with Valerie and say that gift wrapping is REALLY a part of the present itself!

    Your mother is going to LOVE this gift!

    Thanks for sharing the Gift Blog link. I will definitely check it out!

    Have a wonderful Sunday, my dear friend!

    X to you and C!

  6. September 25, 2011 3:17 pm

    P.S. and congrats on being featured on her blog!

  7. September 25, 2011 4:42 pm

    This is the cutest thing;….I just bookmarked it because at Christmas, when I get the gift cards for grands, these will be PERFECT…and so inexpensive. With 7 teen girls and 3 grown guys, buying for grands can get VERY costly. Cutting down anywhere I can will sure help.
    xo bj

  8. September 25, 2011 9:27 pm

    Oh! Gift card idea!! Thanks bj–and thanks Diane. I’m thinkin’ the mom will love the wrapping as much as she loves what’s inside.

    Enjoy your visit!

  9. September 26, 2011 2:50 pm

    Oh I just love your cute envelope! I hope you will add your lovely metamorphosis to my Fall in Love linky party on Wednesday.

    Until then, stop by and see the under $20 makeover I gave an ugly brass light fixture.

    Happy Monday!

  10. September 26, 2011 4:53 pm

    Love it!! I really like both the papers you chose too. I’m sure your mom will treasure it. Having been making envelopes, greeting cards, gift tags, etc. for years I can so appreciate this awesome idea. I have ALOT of scrapbooking paper and even use it for wrapping gifts like dvd’s and cd’s and use on earring cards, etc.

  11. September 27, 2011 3:34 am

    Oh, I am going to pin this! This would be great for gift cards, too. Thanks for the tutorial!

  12. September 27, 2011 5:28 pm

    I absolutely LOVE receiving a present that’s beautifully wrapped. Almost to the point that I don’t want to open it, which is a bit silly!!!

    Yours look GORGEOUS!! I want it!!

    Sarahx

Trackbacks

  1. santa’s elves « home sweet homemade
  2. santa’s elves II « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

