Skip to content

santa’s elves II

December 18, 2011

Last year I forged a strong connection with a simple style of gift wrapping, so this year I’m continuing the theme, but taking it a step greener.  I’m using mostly recycled papers and boxes for my wrapping materials.

I started by making a bow out of strips cut from assorted old maps.  This one’s for my mommy and I hope she loves it!

I used a snippet of envelope lining for the gift tag.

Many of my gifts this year are very small items, so I used my favorite folded envelope style wrapping and garnished each package with a vintage button.

These envelopes are made from a standard brown paper grocery bag and a large white envelope (used, of course).  The sturdiness of both paper sources makes them excellent choices for this re-purposing effort.

I liked the bottle-green button color with the brown paper.

Instead of wrapping gift boxes, I chose to highlight each plain white box with a simple adornment.  The embellishment below is made by threading 10-12 fabric circles onto a strand of ribbon.

I used a white packing box (below) as a gift box and adorned it simply with a band of brown paper layered beneath a band of map paper and finished with a string tie and plain white button.

Of course, this box (below) needed to be wrapped to keep the contents a secret.  I used paper circles (from a security envelope) threaded on cotton string as the adornment, similar to the one above it.

Santa still has a few more gifts to buy and to wrap.  But it is one of my favorite chores of the year!  Sending warm holiday cheer 🙂  Thank you so much for dropping by.

.

.

.

sharing with
Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage
Share the Love at Very Merry Vintage Style
The Inspiration Board at homework
Sunday Showcase at Under the Table and Dreaming by Stephanie Lynn
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Sunday’s Best at My 1929 Charmer
7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2011 11:58 pm

    The craft paper envelopes are awesome! Would love love love for you to share this at our party going on now http://space46.blogspot.com/2011/12/co-hosting-pinteresting-link-party-week.html. Happy holiday! My

  2. December 19, 2011 2:38 am

    cute.cute.cute! love the envelopes, the bows, the simplicity…love it all!

    Merry Christmas,
    Cindi

  3. December 19, 2011 3:51 am

    *waving*

    Hi Diane! Just wanted to pop by real quick and say hello and catch up with you tonight.

    LOVE! LOVE! LOVE these! OMG…they’re faaaaaaaaaaaaaabulous!

    You’re creativity is endless!

    And your mother is going to LOVE that bow on her gift!

    Hope you’re enjoying this holiday season, dear friend!

    I miss you and can’t wait to get back to blogging right after Christmas!

    Have a great week!

    Much X to you and Cristybella!

  4. December 20, 2011 2:11 am

    Ummm….YES the mom is going to love the package!

    I’d have a tough time opening it……

    They’re all just too pretty. But you’re right, the brown paper with the green button–awesome!

  5. December 20, 2011 3:30 am

    I love those envelopes! And the map bow~that’s my favorite. I don’t know if I’d want to open any of those. They’re so pretty!

  6. December 22, 2011 8:40 pm

    I love your little envelopes, and will be making a few myself. The map bow is really cute also. So pretty! Thanks for sharing over at Sunday’s Best and happy holidays!

  7. December 23, 2011 2:07 pm

    Wow! Incredible gift wrap! I’m going to start saving up supplies in October next year and totally do organic gift wrap, too!!! Merry Christmas!!!

    XO, Aimee from Itsoverflowing

Leave a Reply

