Skip to content

seashore windchimes

February 26, 2011

I’m not exaggerating when I say that we probably have several hundred seashells in the house.  Most are seashell fragments and most are shells that Cristy has collected through the years.  Bottom line is, there is a generous supply.

To invite positive energy into our home, I made a windchime today to hang near the back door and used driftwood and seashells.  And of course some buttons and sparkly beads.

 

I’m hoping that the soft clinking sound will attract hummingbirds too.  Because, yes, it’s migration time again.

Adding soft natural music to the landscape.

Well.

I loved it so much, I made another.

As I was sifting through a large bowl of shells, I saw that charming piece of driftwood.  I selected smaller shell pieces and brightly colored beads to accessorize.

There are two companions to this project if you’re interested, one with seaglass and the other with driftwood.

Thank you for reading !

.

.

.

.

Linking to
Visit thecsiproject.com
 .

.

.

Beachy Challenge at the CSI Project
Amaze me Monday at Dittle Dattle
Simply Creations at Simple Home Life
Wow me Wednesday at Ginger Snaps
Polly Want A Crafter?
Miss Crafty Pants
French Country Cottage
83 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 2:59 am

    I only wish I knew you back when I lived in Florida and collected sea shells, yet had no idea what to do with them other than placing them in a basket.

    I LOVE this windchime, Diane! And the buttons add so much charm!

    Hey, I didn’t know that about hummingbirds!?! How cool!

    Happy weekend, my friend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  2. February 26, 2011 3:01 pm

    How very pretty, I LOVE seashells 🙂

  3. March 3, 2011 9:22 pm

    What a brilliant, brilliant idea! Was it easy to thread the shells on? It looks fantastic.

    Sarahx

  4. March 8, 2011 8:08 pm

    omgoodness, what a lovely wind chime! Beautiful to look at and I imagine it makes a beautiful sounds as well. Love it!

  5. July 22, 2011 1:15 pm

    Lovely! My grandmother loves windchimes, and bet she would love for my boys to make her one like this!

  6. Skye Raphael permalink
    November 10, 2011 9:28 pm

    Beautiful wind-chimes. I love DIY and I love seashells and I love wind-chimes too! I’d love to make one, but I’m just wondering, how do you make holes in the shells? Except for those that’s already broken, most of the seashells I have are fully intact.

    • April 25, 2013 1:20 am

      I used my husbands drill with the smallest drill bit to put the holes in the ones i do just have to be easy so they don’t brake and the bits don’t brake as well.

  7. Ashleigh permalink
    March 9, 2012 5:20 pm

    This is a fabulous idea, and its perfect because i live right next to the ocean!! thanks for the idea! 🙂

  8. April 17, 2012 5:46 pm

    Very Nice!!! I Allways had wished to know HOW I can do the little tiny holes on sea glasses and shells , please tell me how you do it!! 😛

  9. July 5, 2012 8:21 am

    Hello Diane – your wind chime is so pretty, I love it! I’ve got this linked to my nautical post as well today, nice job!

  10. June 26, 2013 8:34 pm

    I use a glass drill bit on the shells which makes for short work on them and sea glass.I have used anything I can find..though ,glass globes( for the lights on ceiling fans ) take a long time to drill through because you do not want to force glass( they look great) , especially thick glass, as well as thin..My friend and I made 2 and they are hanging on our porches .These are lovely and I have some driftwood.Thanks for the idea.we live on the Texas Gulf side near Louisiana so shells and driftwood are plentiful
    .

  11. July 13, 2015 3:56 pm

    I’m not particularly handy, but I do have lots of seashells collected over a lifetime – but I have no idea how to drill (?) a hole in them in order to string them to whatever. Help?

    • July 13, 2015 4:12 pm

      Hi Jean,
      As you see in the photos, I used mostly seashell shards. I didn’t drill any holes. But I can’t imagine it would be very difficult. Just use a drill with a small drillbit.
      🙂 Diane

  12. Joanne S permalink
    May 5, 2016 9:24 am

    Just stumbled upon this post. Oh my goodness! Your large chime looks just like the one my daughter made me for Mother’s Day when she was in high school. I still have it all these years later. Isn’t it soothing? 🙂

  13. Nicol permalink
    July 2, 2016 8:13 pm

    Very nice! Do I have to use a specific yarn…or any kind is ok?

  14. Ashley permalink
    July 8, 2016 8:35 pm

    I LOVE these. Found them by searching images because I wanted to make my own but I’m having a hard time figuring out the best string. You never mentioned what you used, could you share please? Thanks so much!!

Trackbacks

  1. seaglass pebbles « home sweet homemade
  2. positive energy « home sweet homemade
  3. things i love – beads « home sweet homemade
  4. on the drawing board – bedroom updo « home sweet homemade
  5. favorite projects of 2011 « home sweet homemade
  6. Make Wind Chimes (20 DIY tutorials) - Craftionary
  7. Great Back Yard Crafts For Kids » Growing Up Bilingual | Growing Up Bilingual
  8. How to Make Your Own Wind Chimes - 15 Amazing Ideas
  9. 8 Great DIY Wind Chime Ideas — A Cultivated Nest
  10. Easy DIY Wind Chimes
  11. 23 Amazing DIY Wind Chimes | Style Motivation
  12. 11 DIY Sea Shells Projects - MotivaNova - MotivaNova
  13. 30 Brilliant Marvelous DIY Wind Chimes Ideas | WebNet Company
  14. Anonymous
  15. DIY FRIDAY. Six simple sea shell projects for your wedding day. | Paper and Lace
  16. Fun and Amazing: 25 DIY Wind Chimes That You Need To Make Right Now | DIYManiacDIYManiac
  17. 10 Easy DIY Garden Projects - Always in Trend | Always in Trend
  18. 15 Easy DIY Projects to Make Your Backyard Awesome | The Garden Glove
  19. Lesestoff am Wochenende: Vom Beine baumeln lassen und Gartendeko
  20. Escuela Infantil GRANVIA Vistahermosa » Archivo del weblog » Manualidades infantiles ¡con conchas!
  21. Manualidades infantiles ¡con conchas! | My CMS
  22. 6 Sensational Seashell Crafts to Do With Your Kids My Kids' Adventures
  23. 30 Brilliant Marvelous DIY Wind Chimes Ideas
  24. 36 Breezy Beach Inspired DIY Home Decorating Ideas
  25. From Lovers with Love - Check These Cool DIY Tropical Decorations as Your Last Summertime Sadness
  26. 5 Simple DIY Projects for any Budget
  27. Wind Chime Designs: Various Ways to Get Creative | Decozilla
  28. 20 Marvelous DIY Wind Chimes | Designfup
  29. 17 Exclusive and Fantastic DIY Decoration Ideas Utilizing Shells | Pink-Clothes .com|Clothing & Accessories, For Women, Men, Baby,Kids | | Pink-Clothes .com|Clothing & Accessories, For Women, Men, Baby,Kids |
  30. Easy garden – DIY tutorials for a lovely house
  31. 34 idei de decorat casa care sa-ti aminteasca de plaja - HotDeco.ro
  32. 60 DIY Outdoor Projects
  33. Easy Backyard Projects DIY Projects & Creative Crafts – How To Make Everything Homemade - DIY Projects & Creative Crafts – How To Make Everything Homemade
  34. 22 Easy DIY Backyard Ideas - Decorextra
  35. Diversión en el sol: Actividades creativas de verano para niños - Mamiverse
  36. 14 Easy DIY Projects To Make Your Backyard, A Summer Haven | UnMotivating
  37. Seashell Crafts That Bring The Beach Into Your Home | Club Oferteproprietari.ro
  38. Seashell Crafts That Bring The Beach Into Your Home ⋆ Steal Mag
  39. 30 Easy and Budget Friendly Backyard Projects - Noted List
  40. 32 DIY Wind Chimes To Hang In A Beautiful Home - DIYReady.com | Easy DIY Crafts, Fun Projects, & DIY Craft Ideas For Kids & Adults
  41. Nature crafts for summer - Mummy Alarm
  42. Móvil casero con conchas para hacer en casa | Fiestas y Cumples
  43. 36 Breezy Beach Inspired DIY Home Decorating Ideas - 12thBlog
  44. 10 Super Unique and Easy to Do Backyard Ideas
  45. 36 Inspiring Beach Decor Ideas For a Breezy Airy Household
  46. 12 Easy DIY Projects You MUST Do, #10 Will Entertain Your Kids For Weeks. - Go Viral Buzz
  47. Awesome Breezy Beach Inspired DIY Home Decorating Ideas - CheerCrank
  48. Easy DIY Backyard Project Ideas | PUPPIES & DIY
  49. DIY Wind Chimes | 11 DIY Tutorials DIY Ready
  50. 40 Home Decor DIY Projects for Summer - DIY Joy
  51. DIY Driftwood Decoration Tutorials
  52. Easy DIY Backyard Project Ideas - DIYJane
  53. 10 Easy DIY Backyard Project Ideas
  54. 10 Unique Beach Activities - Naturally Teaching
  55. 50 Exclusive Wind Chime Ideas You Have Never Heard Of – Tumree Blog
  56. 30 SIMPLE AND BEAUTIFUL DIY WIND CHIMES IDEAS TO MATERIALIZE THIS SUMMER • DIY Tips
  57. 31 DIY Wind Chimes - DIY Joy
  58. 24 Amazing DIY Ideas To Bring The Beach To Your Home. – BrickJam
  59. 24 Amazing DIY Ideas To Bring The Beach To Your Home. – VitalJam
  60. 24 Amazing DIY Ideas To Bring The Beach To Your Home. – Online Improper
  61. 24 Amazing DIY Ideas To Bring The Beach To Your Home. – Basic Bull
  62. 24 Amazing DIY Ideas To Bring The Beach To Your Home. | Temple Buzz
  63. Breezy Beach Magnificent DIY Home Decorating Ideas - Daily Amazing, funny, creative news articles
  64. 10 Cheap and Easy DIY Wind Chime Ideas That Will Refresh Your Patio - Style Motivation
  65. 10 Cheap and Easy DIY Wind Chime Ideas That Will Refresh Your Patio – chuckiesblog
  66. 10 Cheap and Easy DIY Wind Chime Ideas That Will Refresh Your Patio | Ctacy
  67. Coastal Christmas DIY for the Whole Family

Leave a comment