Skip to content

trio of slipcovers

February 27, 2011

Myfirst attempt at making a slipcover was to make a new cushion for my ming armchair.  I used fabric from a yukata that my father purchased in Tokyo when he was in the Air Force in the early 1950s.  The binding around the neck and down the front of the robe transformed nicely into the binding around the edge of the cushion.  Finally, the tie belt was perfect for the cushion’s side ties.

My second slipcover was for a craigslist find.  I made a simple ruffled seat cover for this pretty cane back chair resting ever so sweetly in the dining room.

The third chair cover has a distinctive feminine flair.  This pretty armchair was gracing a guest bedroom until just recently, when it relocated to the parlor.

Thank you so much for dropping in, I genuinely enjoy your company🙂

.

.

.

Linking to

Primp Your Stuff Wednesday at {Primp}
Tuesday’s Treasures at My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia
Show and Share Day at Just a Girl
Fridays Unfolded at Stuff and Nonsense
Funky Junk Interiors SNS
French Country Cottage
Becolorful
17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 1:34 am

    Awesome job, Diane!

    They’re all beautifully done. So professional!

    Love the two different fabric’s on the first one. They go so well with the ming armchair style. I have such an affinity for all things Asian-looking.

    Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

    X to you and Cristy!

  2. February 27, 2011 12:52 pm

    Love them all, the chairs are beautiful. I think my favorite is the third, with the laced up ties, what a pretty touch it gives to the piece! love the fitted simple cover too.
    I’m stopping by from SNS slipcover edition at FJI.

  3. February 27, 2011 4:33 pm

    ooh! i love that tied one! so beautiful!

  4. February 28, 2011 3:18 am

    They’re all great, but that last one! WOW! I love the lacing. I’ve never seen a slipcover like it. Beautiful!

  5. February 28, 2011 2:38 pm

    I love your Craig’s list chair. It’s lovely…..and even lovelier with your slipcovers on it.

    I love the fabrics you’ve chosen. Gorgeous!

    Sarahx

  6. February 28, 2011 3:35 pm

    Great job on all three! What a wonderful use of fabric. I’m really liking the last one and the way it laces up. Also, I love that lamp shade in your guest bedroom.
    Hugs.

  7. February 28, 2011 4:21 pm

    This is exactly what I needed! So glad to have found your blog (through Love Your Way.) I’m totally following you!

  8. March 1, 2011 1:17 am

    Diane, I love, love that third chair. The lacing is just perfect; hope you don’t mind if I borrow the idea. And thanks for visiting my blog.

  9. March 1, 2011 2:15 pm

    Love that third chair and slip cover, gorgeous !

  10. amy permalink
    March 1, 2011 3:54 pm

    So crafty and talented! Beautiful work!!!! If we could only quit our jobs and craft all day….

  11. March 3, 2011 9:49 pm

    Love that pattern in the first picture! I tried the link you left on how you used fabric to decorate but it took me to a login page. Can you try to send it to me again? I would love to see what you did.🙂

  12. July 18, 2011 12:25 pm

    how talented you are….i especially love the corset look of the third slipcover…thanks for sharing the ideas on fridays unfolded!

    alison
    stuff and nonsense

  13. July 22, 2011 12:23 pm

    just wanted to let you know that i am featuring your darling slipcovers today on fridays unfolded…have a great weekend!

    alison

  14. Julie permalink
    October 20, 2011 11:11 pm

    I am loving the last slipcover, do you have instructions anywhere on how to construct it? I would love any tips you might have!

Trackbacks

  1. the lazy-girl slipcover « home sweet homemade
  2. Lingerie inspired slipcover « home sweet homemade
  3. fridays unfolded #26 | nancherrs WordPress

Leave a Reply

