Skip to content

bringing the beach home

March 14, 2011

After hanging the large paper “sculpture” in the corner of our living room, I mentally determined that a similar strand made from driftwood would be just the thing needed to complete the installation.  The stacked paper reminded me of bamboo wind chimes and I wanted to echo that theme with this natural element I dearly love.

I gathered a generous amount while we were at the shore yesterday.  So today I wove it together with jute and hung it outdoors in the sun for the wood to dry completely.

I love the rough weathered texture with edges softened by wind and water.

I didn’t want to drill through the pieces, so I borrowed an idea from the hex nut jewelry I saw recently and threaded my jute strands through small hex nuts between each wood piece.

The stacked driftwood strand will be the perfect complement to the stacked paper strands.  Now if only I could find the motivation to carry a tall ladder in from the garage to hang it indoors….

Thanks so much for reading.

.

.

.

Linking to
Visit thecsiproject.com

Beachy Challenge at the CSI Project

Wow me Wednesday at Ginger Snaps

Under the Table and Dreaming

somewhat simple

French Country Cottage

It’s a Crafty Life

Delightful Order

The Charm of Home

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 2:19 pm

    This is so lovely. I adore driftwood. I just did a post today, actually, on using untreated wood around the home. We’re on the same page, baby!!

    Sarahx

  2. March 14, 2011 3:08 pm

    I love what you did here. It’s probably a good idea you used the nuts instead of drilling through the wood, you just never know when it might crack. The rope is a perfect match to the driftwood. Great job.

  3. March 14, 2011 6:23 pm

    WOW this is very cool, I love the wood with the nuts in between. Beautiful..

  4. March 15, 2011 12:34 am

    Diane….this is faaaaaaaaaaaaabulous!!!!!

    OMG…I LOVE your use of the driftwood!

    And it totally echos bamboo wind chimes. Ingenious of you using the small hex nuts between each wood piece!

    BRAVA! Another wonderful creation by DIANE!

    Hope you had a super Monday!

    X to you and Cristy!

  5. March 15, 2011 2:15 am

    Better than any I’ve seen in catalogs! Those hex nuts were a great idea.

  6. March 16, 2011 1:51 pm

    I just noticed the hex nuts in more dwetail. That’s so clever. I’m useless at drilling* so this would be perfect for me.

    *for useless, read scared of !!

    Sarahx

  7. April 2, 2011 2:51 am

    Oh this is very smart! I love things made with driftwood. All time worn it could almost tell a story. What a fun display you made of it. Very Nice. Thanks for linking up!
    Sherry

  8. May 5, 2011 3:51 am

    Diane – I love the simplicity of the driftwood and bet it looks fabulous hanging from the ceiling. This is a very serene piece. Thanks so much for linking up to the Sunday Showcase Party – I greatly appreciate it. I have featured this today.
    Hope you are enjoying your week
    ~ Stephanie Lynn
    http://www.bystephanielynn.com

  9. July 22, 2011 1:16 pm

    Beautiful! I love how rough and natural the driftwood looks!

Trackbacks

  1. seaglass pebbles « home sweet homemade
  2. seashore windchimes « home sweet homemade
  3. positive energy « home sweet homemade
  4. favorite projects of 2011 « home sweet homemade
  5. Tag stranden med hjem | Tinadalbøge.dk
  6. DIY avec du bois flotté | PLUMETIS Magazine
  7. GreenSelector.com » Craft Recycled: 10 Super Fun Beach Crafts

Leave a comment