Skip to content

things I love – the DIY edition

March 17, 2011

I need to send out a few birthday cards and thank you notes.  Lately I’ve been trying to repurpose printed paper (you know me, I like annual reports and junk mail) into personalized greeting cards.

But this idea from Sherrie at Simpleliving blew me away!  She’s making her own decorative envelopes!  Totally fabulous.  This is completely something I could do, and customize them to fit my own greeting cards and note cards.

Fabulously novel approach to recycling!

And what about this creative idea for affordable and stylish floor rugs?  Heidi at Budget Wise Home (image via Apartment Therapy) demonstrates that piecing together humble cotton  throw rugs patchwork-quilt style give a room a casual fresh look.  I love it! 

 

But oh … when I saw this.  You see, I have a weakness for caged pendant lamps.  And this lovely DIY example from Ashley Ann Photography pairs a simple wire basket with a standard pendant lamp kit for a charming result.

Photobucket

Hope you have a chance to put a little DIY into your weekend.  Thanks for reading!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 9:31 pm

    Not sure I would call it novel. I’ve been making my own envelopes (including those out of maps) for at least 15 years! They are, however, very cool.

  2. March 18, 2011 1:19 am

    OMG…the envelopes are pure genius, Diane!

    I’ve never seen anything like them before. I need to stop over at Sherrie’s blog to see how she did it.

    LOVE the caged pendant lamp! VERY cool!

    Once again, you share such delightful creations! Thank you.

    Hope you had a super day!

    X to you and C!

  3. March 18, 2011 3:43 am

    Map envelopes!! How cool!

  4. March 20, 2011 2:47 pm

    WOw I love all of these Ideas Thanks so much for Sharing! Especially the light!

Trackbacks

  1. homemade notecards « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

