Skip to content

on the drawing board – bedroom updo

July 24, 2011

when we purchased our house in 2009, we also purchased two pieces of new furniture, including a bed from Crate & Barrel.  We liked it, and it was affordable.  After placing the bed in this large room with its tall ceilings, it seemed cavernously empty.  I quickly reproduced a look my mom created for me, when I was a teen-aged girl, with a set of curtain panels from Overstock.com.

It was quick.  and easy.  we already had the spare curtain rod and I adorned it with one of the heart garlands I was busy making for our wedding.

So we’ve been here nearly two years and our home is beginning to look a bit more like us as we consider how we want to really express ourselves in this space we are so fortunate to call home.  Even though the curtain panel is pretty, it doesn’t seem to be a cohesive part of this room.

This is more what I’m thinking.  A cross between this (image via Poppytalk)

and this (gorgeous image via Cote de Texas)

and this (seashell windchime)

Get where we’re going?  I’m not very good at illustrating over digital images, but this is sort of what’s under construction.

Mixture of antique chandelier prisms, seashells, beads and buttons draped from a driftwood branch.  Our bedroom is starting to veer closer to a relaxed coastal vibe.  So for now, why not go with it?  Feels sort of risky publishing untested ideas, but we’ll see what happens.

Thank you for reading ~ hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend!

.

.

.

postscript — for the finished results, click here

for other diy wallhanging ideas, click here

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 8:02 pm

    I am loving the coastal vibe! I have the same problem now – huge master and not sure how to place furniture…

  2. July 24, 2011 11:00 pm

    I think that’s going to make a great statement in the room! I can’t wait to see it.🙂

  3. July 25, 2011 12:53 am

    “Our bedroom is starting to veer closer to a relaxed coastal vibe. So for now, why not go with it?”

    You’re right….why not? I think it’ll look faaaaaaabulous! It’s such a clean and airy look.

    I adore the curtain panels! In fact, you just gave me a great idea for the three windows in my studio apartment.

    And as always, my friend…I so love your taste and style! Look forward to seeing you new additions.

    Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  4. July 25, 2011 2:46 am

    love the heart garland. Very cute.

  5. July 25, 2011 12:41 pm

    Hi Diane…can’t wait to see what your creative brain comes up with!

    Love,
    Tracey
    x0x

  6. July 26, 2011 2:17 am

    I like your choices! I love something beachy myself. But crystal chandeliers fit any decor, and are sooo yummy! Love the way you’ve done your pictures!

  7. July 26, 2011 2:26 pm

    Looks cool! Good luck, hope it turns out the way you are picturing!

  8. July 26, 2011 10:30 pm

    I love the concept. I think it will be so pretty. And I’m insanely jealous of all that bedroom space. We can barely fit two side tables next to our bed!

  9. July 27, 2011 12:41 am

    Love the idea! Cant wait to see the finished product!!

  10. July 28, 2011 1:05 am

    Hi Diane!
    Love your new ideas! Can’t wait to see what you decide on! Thanks so much for sharing it at the Tuesday To Do Party!
    Smiles!
    Jami
    http://www.blackberryvine.blogspot.com

Trackbacks

  1. bedroom sparkle « home sweet homemade
  2. 25 Easy (Virtually Free!) Home Decor Cover-ups | World inside pictures

Leave a Reply

