Skip to content

bedroom sparkle

July 30, 2011

recently I posted a project idea on the drawing board for making a change to our bedroom look, that for me, had grown generic.  In this personal space, I wanted to feature something unique to us by highlighting objects we most love.  I replaced the curtain panels previously behind the headboard with a wall hanging made from strands of beads, seashells and chandelier prisms, wrapped around a driftwood branch.

.

.

for us, this wall hanging is a celebration of both found and reclaimed treasures.

.

.
The seashells and driftwood are collected pieces and the chandelier prisms are from a lighting fixture that was in my childhood home.  Additional buttons, beads and fragments of jewelry make it even more personal..
 .
broom4
.
.
antiquetrunk1
.
.
This is what the room looked like a week ago.  The drapery panel was completely OK, but it seemed slightly at odds with our personal preferences in this evolving space.
.

.

This was a fairly simple project, but time consuming because of the scale.  To make this piece I used standard jewelry/bead wire from the craft store and tied the top of each vertical strand to the branch.  The swag is a continuous strand of bead wire, tied to the branch at both ends and wrapped around the middle.

.

.

Driftwood can be brittle, so drilling through the wood compromises its stability further.  To attach this piece to the wall, I tied a sturdy piece of twine around the middle and made a double loop at the end to serve as a hook.   Then hooked the twine loop over a screw secured in a drywall anchor.

.

It’s truly the focal point of this room.  However, lately, we were fortunate enough to receive an antique trunk as a gift from one of Cristybella’s dearest friends and it is a beautiful addition that complements our dialed back style perfectly.

antiquetrunk2

.

My next task in this room will be to refinish or disguise  the damaged tabletop of my cheap old desk.  Still working out a strategy for that!

.

Thank you for reading, I so appreciate your company and I truly appreciate the imaginative creativity you share ~ it all inspires me!

.

..

.

Sharing with

Authentic Style at Whisperwood Cottage
 
33 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2011 11:48 pm

    The curtain looks great! I do love the little sculpture element, though, it is very creative and perfectly simple. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and helping me climb to 100 followers! 🙂

    I will be holding the giveaway shortly, so keep your eyes peeled!

    Jamie
    day-and-age-design.com

  2. July 31, 2011 12:39 am

    Okay, first, I didn’t even realize when you shared the photo of your bedroom and the drapery panel in your past post, that there wasn’t a window behind it?!!? I think it’s so cool that you did that simply as a drapery panel behind the bed.

    Yet, I LOVE the new look too!

    And that driftwood, sea shell, beaded garland you added is simply bellissima! I can only imagine how much time it took to create because you’re right, the scale is LARGE.

    Kudos, Diane! Awesome job!

    Oooo…oooo….yes, I can definately see an antique trunk of some kind at the foot of your bed. Great idea! Not only will it add to the look of the room, but also a convenient place to store things.

    I’m lovin’ watching you transform your bedroom in steps. Honestly, you’ve inspired me in so many ways to add things to my studio apartment.

    And as always….I just LOVE your style and taste!

    Hope you had a super Saturday, my dear friend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  3. July 31, 2011 2:47 am

    Love this new look….it’s so creative and unexpected.

  4. July 31, 2011 4:13 pm

    I love that. It is so whimsical and unique. Great job and thanks for sharing it with the world.

  5. July 31, 2011 9:30 pm

    i love the driftwood, bead wall hanging!! stopping by from boogie board cottage.
    x

  6. August 1, 2011 3:29 am

    Your new wall hanging is very pretty. I like the rustic natural feel of the driftwood.

  7. August 1, 2011 4:37 am

    Such a uniquely Diane Direction you are going here. I think elements with a personal history add such a great dimension to a room. Your wall piece is definitely that and it picks up your colors beautifully, Like my rug choices, I am sure that is no accident. :0 Thank you for your gracious comments on my foyer and library. I do wish that next time you post on this room that you would give a little better view of that art work. I love seeing other people’s choices in wall art. It is another little vista into their style and yours is so intriguing.
    Pam

  8. August 1, 2011 4:35 pm

    You know, I didn’t mind the curtain at all, but after seeing your driftwood and bead masterpiece~you were right! It looks so good there! So pretty!

    I hope you find a trunk~they can be so ridiculously overpriced. But one would look really good at the end of the bed.

  9. August 1, 2011 7:43 pm

    Hi Diane – I think it looks like a modern-day dreamcatcher. Just lovely!
    A trunk at the end of the bed is a great idea…I love any piece of furniture that can act as double duty (like storage). Have you thought about trying to make something yourself? There are some great ideas out there. I also posted another ‘found paper’ post that I think you’ll like. Have a look when you get a sec. Nice to watch the video, too.
    Michael
    bluevelvetchair.blogspot.com

  10. August 2, 2011 5:10 am

    I love that the sculpture you designed is made of things you’ve found or that have an importance to you.
    It really looks so pretty and so unique.

  11. August 3, 2011 3:15 am

    hey, love that! super cute.

    i love all your stuff, though.

    and oh my goodness, i’m obsessed with trunks!!!!

  12. August 3, 2011 11:48 am

    Your project is such a pretty improvement over the curtains!

  13. August 3, 2011 11:48 am

    Thank you for linking to Wicked Awesome Wednesday!

  14. August 4, 2011 1:04 am

    This is so pretty! It adds kind of a whimsical aspect to the room. I think an antique trunk would look great too 🙂

  15. August 4, 2011 6:57 pm

    Tres magnifique! I love it!!! SO Anthropologie chic!
    I am visiting you from Homework’s Inspiration Party.I would love for you to link it to my Pinkalicious Thursday party.

    http://www.frugaliciousme.com/2011/08/pinkalicious-thursday-party-13.html

    XOXO,
    Tasha
    http://www.frugaliciousme.com

  16. August 4, 2011 10:38 pm

    I like the change you made to the bed room. If you can not find a trunk you like, what about a small bench seat? Half the fun is the looking. I hope you get some relief from the heat. We are having warmer than normal temperatures here in Buffalo, but nothing compared to Texas. Stay cool.

  17. August 5, 2011 12:11 am

    looks really beautiful!

  18. August 5, 2011 8:24 pm

    This really looks beautiful!! Very impressive! 🙂
    Thank you so much for your sweet comment on my blog, Diane!
    I would love it if you shared your creativity at my next linky party @ {nifty thrifty sunday}!
    xoxo,
    Vanessa

  19. August 6, 2011 5:53 pm

    wow thats beautiful!!

  20. August 8, 2011 2:04 am

    Hi, Diane! You’ve got so much creativity and I’m admiring them all. Can you please share your creative posts at the Creative Bloggers’ Party & Hop? Hope to see you there at the party 🙂.

    Btw, I also have a blog party called Market Your Biz and Giveaways so please feel free to link up your online shop and giveaways on Tuesday at 5 pm.

  21. August 13, 2011 2:57 am

    I adore this project, Diane! It is truly beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing your Authentic Style at WWC.

  22. August 13, 2011 3:42 pm

    Lovely bedroom! Thanks so much for linking to the Tuesday To Do Party!
    Smiles!
    Jami
    http://www.blackberryvine.blogspot.com

  23. August 16, 2011 6:36 pm

    the driftwood addition is so sweet! it looks marvelous..i can’t wait to see what the trunk looks like in the room! so pretty 🙂

  24. alannah permalink
    May 21, 2014 5:42 pm

    I love this so much! By any chance could you make one and sell it?? It looks tricky, but so beautiful. If not, what were the exact things you used?

  25. Meg permalink
    November 22, 2015 11:13 am

    How did you hang the drift wood?

Trackbacks

  1. dining room update – simple window treatment « home sweet homemade
  2. love <3 print sampler « home sweet homemade
  3. on the drawing board – bedroom updo « home sweet homemade
  4. Projets créatifs avec des coquillages | PLUMETIS, le blog
  5. The Inspiration Board: link party spotlight {9} | homework: creative inspiration for home and life
  6. Etceteras: shells, shells, shells | homework: creative inspiration for home and life
  7. 13 easy crafts using shells your kids can make this summer
  8. DIY Budget Friendly Bedroom Makeover Ideas

Leave a comment