Skip to content

love <3 print sampler

September 2, 2012

The fruit of my crafty endeavors this summer is another addition to the loveprints in our home – things made with love.

It is an embroidery sampler on upcycled paper, stitched together crazy quilt style with fishing string and embellished with reclaimed beads from an old lampshade.  It rests nicely within the recessed panel of part of a vintage door.

This summer I learned some new stitches and experimented with creating pleasing geometric designs.

.

As soon as I finished, the next challenging task presented itself — curating the room’s accessories to include this new piece without making it look lopsided.

.

antiquetrunk1

.

Everything came down, got mixed up and reinstalled.  It is mostly a blend of items representing water and love.

.

And this new loveprint adds its sweet music to the chorus.

Just in case you’re curious about that driftwood thingy hanging over the bed draped with the chandelier prisms, click here.

.

As always, thank you so much for reading.  Your company gives me such joy!

.

.

.

linking to Elizabeth & Co.
13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2012 6:27 pm

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaay! I’m so happy to see that you posted this because I was dying to view this craft project in it’s completion, Diane!

    How creative you are to place within the recessed panel of part of a vintage door! It looks beyond AWESOME! As you know, I adore the look of distressed wood, so I really loving this piece.

    I also love where you placed it on your bedroom wall. You and I have the same taste in style. That sorta eclectic- look of placing different pieces together, and somehow they all blend in harmony.

    What a lovely and comfortable home you have.

    Well done, girl. WELL done!

    Hope you’re enjoying a great holiday long weekend!

    Happy Labor Day tomorrow!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  2. September 3, 2012 3:48 pm

    Wow…….

    Now, see I knew it was fantastic from the teaser post below. LOL And I love how all of it just belongs….as it’s suppose to.

    I adore it! And it’s a lovely and loving collection of things that speak of love(s)….so of course it works well together.
    Wow.

    Awesome!!
    The designs of the hearts are just way fun. And extremely disciplined…….which means HOLY cow what a lot of work to go to. Obviously a labor of love. No pun intended.

  3. September 5, 2012 7:45 pm

    This is just a wonderful sampler. Super creative. I would love it if you could share this wonderful post at our What’s it Wednesday linky party. I hope you can join us.

    Paula
    ivyandelephants.blogspot.com

  4. September 6, 2012 1:57 am

    Hi Diane, That’s a fabulous creation and I love that you used that piece of an old door to mount it on.
    Hugs,
    Julia

  5. Jane O permalink
    September 7, 2012 2:31 pm

    i was distracted by the dangle beads from wood! wow those are pretty!

  6. September 8, 2012 2:32 pm

    What a brilliant modern take on a sampler. I love all the different heart motifs you’ve used. It looks so pretty!

    Sarahx

  7. September 8, 2012 10:33 pm

    I LOVE that! It looks like a handcrafted quilt. The hearts look so great on that chippy old door, too!

    • September 11, 2012 6:47 pm

      thank you Suzanne. I fretted about this project for the longest time – just could not make up my mind. I originally did want to piece together a paper quilt, but later decided to do the patchwork embroidery sampler thingy. Now I’m thinking about combining stamping or image transfer and embroidery….it will probably take me another year to figure it out! hope your summer has been wonderful 🙂

  8. September 11, 2012 8:36 am

    Oh wow, that is so neat! I love how you did mixed media, and your bedroom is just gorgeous. Great to have you at the link party! Thanks for sharing at Hookin On Hump Day!

  9. September 11, 2012 3:59 pm

    20 out of 20 adorable!

  10. September 11, 2012 9:00 pm

    That’s so neat! I love all the pieces on your wall though! Gorgeous room!

  11. August 16, 2013 12:32 am

    I love your embroidery! Just gorgeous!

Trackbacks

  1. Hookin On Hump Day #14 – Link Party for the Fiber Arts

Leave a comment