Skip to content

gardening notebook

September 8, 2012

every day I spend a little time caring for the plants — adding water and pinching away dried leaves and withered blossoms.  I think it’s true what they say about garden chores being good for your overall health.

Today I added soil to a few flowerpots, fussed a little bit in the kitchen garden and clipped a few blossoms for the kitchen table.

Unless I can find a way to procrastinate, next on the gardening list is trimming the overgrown lantana out front.

Thank you for dropping by ~ wishing you a beautiful weekend!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2012 12:05 pm

    ” I think it’s true what they say about garden chores being good for your overall health.”

    When I was a kid, my mother use to say the same thing. She said, “Get outside and digging in the dirt is good for the soul.”

    Lovely photos, Diane! What a wonderful photo collage! I love the arrangement you created for your kitchen table from the clippings.

    Your home, inside and out, is so inviting, welcoming, and warm.

    Just like you and Cristybella!

    Have a beautiful weekend!

    Much X to you both!

  2. charltonestatetrust permalink
    September 8, 2012 3:30 pm

    Wall of Colour!!!!!

  3. September 8, 2012 10:30 pm

    Your flowers are gorgeous! And they still look so vibrant.
    Everything here is starting to fade. I need to do some pruning, too.

  4. September 9, 2012 8:37 am

    Oh, it’s that time of year where everything is bursting with blossoms and colour……and this morning, 45 degrees.
    *sigh* It’s coming and I’m not ready! But leaves have started to fall–and autumn will happen with/without my permission…..

    Good thing I love autumn, huh. *laughing* ‘Cept for the clearing out of summer things from the patio……omgosh….what was I thinking with those bazillion pots and planters?!

    Oh yes…..I know…..a home for Toby Toad!! 😉

    • September 11, 2012 6:44 pm

      oh my goodness….45 degrees? brrr. we’re just getting ready for one last beach vacation in a few weeks! I’ve started noticing robins again, so they’re moving south ahead of the cooler weather. Hope your plants are hardy to make it through the cold season. I read that you can pull up geraniums, dust off the roots and store them in the garage for the winter – then replant them again after the ground thaws. I might just need to pull mine in for a week or 2. This year I certainly intend to keep the geraniums!! big hello to Toby🙂

Leave a Reply

