Skip to content

things I love – crazy quilts

August 3, 2011

a week or so ago, Cristy and I attended a musical performance at the House of Blues in Houston and I noticed the intriguing curtain panel at the front of the stage assembled crazy quilt style. 

While all forms of quilting art touch my heart, the freeform design of crazy quilts reminds me of antique scrolls, thick tapestries, and storytellers of old.   

I love the layers of fabric, beads and buttons on this example from Sharon at Pin Tangle (click on image to redirect to the source)

The quilts hold a secret story in their layers.  As in this beautiful example from Kimberly Sherrod at Calamity Kim

or this example, via Pigtales and Quilts.

As with all artistry, I appreciate the beauty revealed in unexpected variances that can only be found in a handmade piece. 

With my current project ambitions to adapt textile artforms into my love of all things paper (here and here), I’m hoping to incubate a creative idea reminiscent of crazy quilts.

Thank you for reading!

.

.

Sharing with

Nifty Thrifty Sunday at Nifty Thrifty Things
Fridays Unfolded at Stuff and Nonsense
Hodgepodge Friday at It’s a Hodgepodge Life
Strut Your Stuff at Somewhat Simple
It’s a Party at A Creative Princess
Inspired by you Wednesday at Eisy Morgan
Will see it Wednesday at Fabric Bows and More
11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2011 11:58 pm

    “The quilts hold a secret story in their layers.”

    Yes! And that’s exactly WHY I love quilts. One of my blogging friends will sometimes post photos of the various quilts she’s done over the years, and I love looking at them because each quilt holds the detailed map to a different story.

    And these are some beautiful quilts you share with us here today.

    Especially enjoyed that last one with the little tea pots!

    Hope you had a great day, Diane!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  2. August 4, 2011 5:19 am

    I’ve been really wanting to take up sewing lately…. quilts in particular. i’m always seeing the cutest baby blankets made out of old vintage fabrics. UGH.

    as if i need ONE MORE THING to learn.

  3. August 4, 2011 10:13 am

    Diane – seriously…I love it when I find someone that has such a similar aesthetic – I love eclectic quilts and fabric wall hangings…have always been drawn to them. But I suck at sewing! So I remain content to admire others who create them. Re: the shipping container homes…yes, I’ve actually seen some. They have put some on the tops of some buildings here in Europe since the only space available in some major cities is up. You may have already seen these links – but just in case…

    A bridge!
    http://www.ecocontainerhome.com/container-architecture-04-june-04-september-at-the-nrw-forum-dusseldorf/

    A penthouse!

    Penthouse Container Housing by HŠH architekti, Prague, Czech Republic

    http://design.spotcoolstuff.com/unusual-architecture/shipping-container-buildings

  4. August 4, 2011 9:11 pm

    These look great!
    So do your paper projects!

  5. August 4, 2011 10:33 pm

    I love old quilts and all the toil and tears that went into them. You are so talented and patient, I know you’ll be creating one of those little beauties in the near future! Thank you so much for linking up!

  6. August 5, 2011 12:00 pm

    so lovely…a true piece of artwork…thank you for sharing at fridays unfolded!

    alison

  7. August 5, 2011 1:48 pm

    Those are beautiful. I can’t even guess how much time it takes to create something like that.
    It will be fun to see how you incorporate fabric into your pieces!

  8. August 5, 2011 5:43 pm

    The intricate details are truly inspirational. I can’t wait to see what you come up with. Thanks so much for dropping by L’Heure Bleue At Home.

  9. August 5, 2011 7:58 pm

    Wow, I’ve never seen such quilts. Those are amazing. The pics are inspiring me to make some “crazy quilts” of my own. Thanks for sharing. Am pinning this on pinterest.

    http://screamingsardine.net/2011/08/artisan-interview-kristin-from-love-in-bloom-boutique/

  10. August 6, 2011 6:33 am

    So beautiful. I’ve heard about crazy quilts before, but never seen them. And never knew how intricate and beautiful they could be. Quilting truly is art. Thanks so much for educating people like me! 🙂

  11. August 6, 2011 6:39 am

    And I was trying to reply this back to you via email but forgot you didn’t have blogger! Anyways, I was a little nervous about what you’d say about the dresser :). I was trying to think of a way to replace the veneer and keep the drawers intact, but it just wouldn’t have done the dresser justice. I’m glad you like the simplicity of it! This dresser has inspired me to try to save more furniture. Here’s hoping I find more trash!

    And I now I have an interesting challenge of what to do with the 2 leftover drawers. The fronts are falling apart a bit, but I may be able to keep them together to make a shelf of some sort. I’ve seen people do it before where they use the frame of it and I think it’s a great way to still celebrate the dovetail joins. Have you ever done any dresser drawer projects?

    By the way, you should go to the Heights tomorrow! It’s White Linen Nights! Street is shut down and people are all wearing white and dancing around…and very likely enjoying too much wine. Plus my consignment shop Grace Hart will be open until 10pm (although I only have a few small pieces of furniture left there now…a good thing of course :D).

    Thanks again for the support! Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a comment