Skip to content

cowboy boots

August 7, 2011

when I was in Austin 2 weeks ago, there were four or five paintings on the hotel’s conference level of cowboy boots.  I was instantly inspired to revisit the cowboy boot image in my own projects, and what better way to start than with a home made birthday card for my niece’s husband?

I covered an old greeting card we had received a number of months ago with broad stripes of assorted envelope lining (from junk mail, naturally).  I happen to like that mixture of patterns and the subtle coloring.

Then I cut a boot shape from a piece of junk mail card stock, wove together some very thin strips of paper from one of the catalogs we picked up from the mailbox last night, and voila.

Added a short piece of twine I had stashed in my desk drawer, made a little envelope, and we’re rodeo ready!

Thank you for visiting, I truly enjoy your company!

.

.

Sharing with

Wow me Wednesday at Ginger Snaps
Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoesting
Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage
Wicked Awesome Wednesday at Handy Man, Crafty Woman
{Primp} Your Stuff at {Primp}
Will See it Wednesday at Fabric Bows and More
Share the Love Wednesday at Very Merry Vintage Style
One Project at a Time at A Bowl Full of Lemons
Inspiration Board at Homework
Nifty Thrifty Tuesday at Coastal Charm
Masterpiece Monday at Boogieboard Cottage
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Nifty Thrifty Sunday at Nifty Thrifty  Things
Sister Sunday at Sisters of the Wild West
Sunday Showcase at Under the Table and Dreaming by Stephanie Lynn
Social Saturday at Day & Age Design
23 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2011 1:49 am

    This is waay cute. We are Texans..son and hubs both wear cowboy boots..son has a custom hat and boot shop. I tried wearing them….ONCE….hurt my feet!! :))
    xi bj

  2. August 7, 2011 3:15 am

    This is awesome Diane. So unique and creative.

  3. August 7, 2011 12:42 pm

    Yehaw! I believe you captured the spirit of Texas in your design 🙂 I love Texas, but I’m not loving the heat or lack of rain right now. Dreaming of cooler temps.

  4. August 7, 2011 3:51 pm

    Cindi took the words right out of my mouth….

    YEHAW!……I believe you did capture the spirit of Texas!

    You are so dang creative, girl!

    Hope you’re having a great Sunday!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  5. August 7, 2011 5:01 pm

    Getty- Up! So clever and very Texan! Who would not love to get this Card! Love It!

  6. August 7, 2011 8:16 pm

    What a neat idea! Great boots! Thanks for stopping by my blog, I tried to reply to your comment but you are a no-reply. Just wanted to let you know.

  7. August 7, 2011 8:20 pm

    How cool are these?!! What a great idea. I love your creativity. You come up with such fantastic, original ideas. Plus……cowboy boots?!!! I LOVE them!!

    Sarahx

  8. August 7, 2011 8:31 pm

    That is sooooo cute. I have to try that very soon. I really never thought of using all that “trash” stuff. What a clever girl you are!!

  9. August 7, 2011 10:12 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I’m just getting started as a blogger and am having a blast! Your boot card is ingenious! I have lots of friends in Cowboy Country who would love to receive a card like that! Ann @ Once Upon a Firefly

  10. August 7, 2011 11:27 pm

    Ir’s always fun to see where inspiration comes from. This turned out so great.
    pam

  11. August 8, 2011 12:58 am

    Extremely cool!
    Love it!

  12. August 9, 2011 5:10 am

    Very cute, thanks for sharing. We hope you will consider helping kids with cancer by linking into the Miracle Makeover party this coming week
    at http://www.designgivesback.com. Together we can change things! We appreciate you.

    Love,
    Sherry, DGB Team

  13. August 9, 2011 3:51 pm

    super creative, bet he loved it!
    XO
    kristin

  14. August 10, 2011 2:53 pm

    The weaving is great! Love the cowboy theme! Thank you for linking to Wicked Awesome Wednesday.

  15. August 11, 2011 2:53 pm

    How cute are these boots. Love them. You must do a tutorial on how to make them.
    Thanks for sharing.

  16. August 11, 2011 3:54 pm

    How cute! You know that card is a keeper.

  17. August 11, 2011 6:49 pm

    I love the weaving! This looks great! 🙂

    Thank you for linking up!

    Jamie
    day-and-age-design.com

  18. August 12, 2011 5:38 pm

    Wow these are amazing and really creative! I love the idea!

  19. August 16, 2011 2:42 am

    So creative! Thanks for linking to Share the Love Wednesday!
    Mary

  20. November 9, 2011 1:46 pm

    BRILLIANT!!!!

  21. November 16, 2011 10:29 pm

    You wove those?! Very cool.

Trackbacks

  1. things I love – crazy quilts « home sweet homemade
  2. water inspired gift enclosure « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

