Skip to content

seaglass pebbles

May 20, 2011

Since I’ve been working on a couple of projects that aren’t quite finished yet, my pretty little craft creations are on temporary hiatus.  Thankfully, my lovely Cristybella is taking up the slack.  Just today she made another pretty seashore inspired bauble for our patio.  Hand gathered driftwood and softly colored glass pebbles from the ocean.

The glass has such a luminous dreamy quality.

These small pebbles sway in the breeze and clink together softly.

I think it’s peaceful and artfully beautiful.  To check out the two companion seashore pieces hanging nearby, just click (driftwood) and (shells).

.

Thank you Cristy 🙂

.

.

Linking to
Visit thecsiproject.com

Beachy Challenge at the CSI Project
wow me Wednesday at Ginger Snaps
Handy Man, Crafty Woman
The Shabby Chic Cottage
Coastal Charm
Boogieboard Cottage
Chic on a Shoestring
Finding Fabulous
35 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 1:35 am

    Brava, Cristybella!

    I ADORE this wind chime! It’s so cheery and sweet-looking.

    “The glass has such a luminous dreamy quality.”

    You said it, Diane!

    Great photos, girl!

    Hope you lovely ladies had a terrific Thursday!

    X to you both!

  2. Clair permalink
    May 20, 2011 2:23 am

    Cristy how did you put the holes in the sea glass? I just love your wind chime it is so pretty. I would like to make one and put it out at the cemetery for David. Beautiful!!

    Thanks for sharing, Clair

    • May 20, 2011 3:36 pm

      I’ll have to get Cristy to provide a more specific answer. But I do know she purchased some small drillbits for the Dremel specifically for glass. She says the trick is to drill slowly, allowing the bit to cut through by itself, no pushing. She places a wet sponge in a container and places the glass on the sponge to drill. I don’t quite know how she secures the piece of glass, so it remains immobile while she is working on it, but I will inquire. 🙂 sending hugs to you!

  3. May 20, 2011 2:29 pm

    I love this! And I want to know how you did the holes, too. I’m sure I would shatter something like that.

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog today! I really appreciate you comment. 🙂

    • May 20, 2011 6:53 pm

      Susan, here’s more information from Cristy about the way she drilled those small pieces of glass: she held the pebbles secure with locking pliers wrapped in duct tape while drilling. She recommends the following website for more information (this is where she purchased her dremel drillbits) http://www.drillglass.com/index.html. She says they have a set of instructions that you can download that is extremely helpful. Thank you for stopping by !

      • Clair permalink
        June 2, 2011 2:52 am

        Thanks Diane and Cristy for your tips and info. I was in the cleaning out my closet the other day and came across some more sea glass that I stashed away and need to turn into a treasure. I can’t wait to start a new project. Thanks Diane for the hugs. You really inspire me. ;D

  4. May 20, 2011 3:19 pm

    Your wind chime reminds me of the lapidary class I took when I was a child. Thanks for the memories and for sharing your beautiful project!

  5. May 21, 2011 9:01 pm

    Hi Diane –

    I have a small bag of seaglass that we picked up a few weeks back. Thanks for you links of how to drill the holes. What a beautiful chime!
    Michael
    blue velvet chair

  6. Chrissy Marie permalink
    May 22, 2011 8:50 am

    It is beautiful, sometimes I am amazed at the things you pair manage to create between you 🙂

  7. May 23, 2011 3:38 am

    That is GORGEOUS! I really love how all the strings are the same length. It’s a very classy look! Well done, Christy!

  8. May 24, 2011 9:35 am

    That is beautiful!! She did a Wonderful job. The pictures a amazing.Hope you are Well !!Hugs, Anne

  9. May 24, 2011 2:41 pm

    I love this wind chime! I’m going to feature it in my top favs this week. Thank you for sharing it on Masterpiece Monday. Have a great eek, Mary :O)

  10. May 24, 2011 3:16 pm

    Lovely.

  11. June 2, 2011 4:30 am

    I just love seaglass! SO creative, I never would have thought of that!

  12. June 10, 2011 3:17 pm

    Beautiful! I made one of these but used a dowel. I think the driftwood really adds a special something to it. I’ve gotta take mine apart now and add some drift wood. I wonder if I can find any down by the river…

    Honey

  13. July 21, 2011 9:58 pm

    Diane – did you see that the CSI Project site is doing a link-up for beach-related projects and vignettes? I think you need to link up this sea glass windchime. I’m still sitting with a full bag of sea glass and a piece of driftwood that we collected after I saw this on your site…poor things are just waiting so patiently. Anyway…you should link up! Here’s the site: http://thecsiproject.com/2011/07/21/link-up-now-for-the-beachy-vignettes-and-projects-challenge/

  14. July 22, 2011 1:17 pm

    That is so pretty! I love all the different shades of blue in the sea glass!

  15. Cindy Ceroky permalink
    November 19, 2011 1:48 pm

    Love this!!

  16. January 4, 2013 1:02 am

    Preciosos, aquests mòbils!

  17. July 9, 2013 8:16 pm

    this is so delicate, peaceful and lovely…

  18. Gretchen Kell permalink
    October 8, 2015 9:20 pm

    Love the chime. Had a question about what the little pieces are that look like they’re helping to secure the knots for each strand both at the top of the driftwood and on the piece of glass. Am I seeing things, or is there a small, clear, button-like piece that is near the knot?

  19. Zandra tan permalink
    July 11, 2017 11:13 am

    I have plenty of sea crystals but how do you put a hole to the sea crystal?

Trackbacks

  1. seashore windchimes « home sweet homemade
  2. positive energy « home sweet homemade
  3. Make Wind Chimes (20 DIY tutorials) - Craftionary
  4. 23 Amazing DIY Wind Chimes | Style Motivation
  5. 7 Charming DIY Wind Chimes That Will Embellish Your Backyard
  6. 13 Crafty DIY Wind Chimes | The Garden Glove
  7. AU NATURALE: Creative Ideas Using Driftwood | homework: creative inspiration for home and life
  8. DIY Series: Wind Chimes | The Fashion Foot
  9. 32 DIY Wind Chimes To Hang In A Beautiful Home
  10. 30+ Amazing DIY Wind Chime Ideas & Tutorials - Hative
  11. 30+ Amazing DIY Wind Chime Ideas & Tutorials - Styletic
  12. Wind Chime Designs: Various Ways to Get Creative | Decozilla

Leave a comment