Skip to content

diy mini hanging plant basket

May 16, 2011

a while back, in another post about the garden and patio, I quickly described creating a hanging basket for a flowerpot by reusing a mesh bag from the produce department in the grocery store.

Now I’m finding that whenever I go to the grocery store, I’m secretly (or maybe not so secretly) yearning to purchase some produce in one of these delightful mesh bags.  Just so I can make another one or two of these cute little hanging baskets.

Yesterday in the market, I got a little bag of tomatoes and a wine bottle sleeve.  These two are much much smaller than the original mandarin orange bag version, but still viable.

So here’s the process.

Step 1, start with your bag.  These two are open on both ends.

It needs to be secured on one end, so let’s take care of that.

Step 2, weave a small piece of wire through one end of the mesh bag, pull it together and twist the wire around it securely.

Step 3, create a large opening at the other end to insert the flowerpot.  Cut another length of wire, long enough to form a loop through which you can pass your flowerpot.  Fold over the edge of the mesh bag once or twice to form a little cuff then weave the strand of wire through the cuff, form a circle and stretch the bag around the circle to create a nice opening.  Twist the ends of the wire, securing the opening.

Step 4, cut three lengths of string for hanging the basket.  Get a large jump ring, small key ring or just bend a small piece of wire into a ring.  Fold the strings in half, loop the centers through the ring, then tie an overhand knot to secure.  There will be 6 strands hanging from the ring.

Step 5, tie the ends of the string to the wire opening of the mesh basket in pairs.  Three pairs, three knots.  Then add your flowerpot, hang and get ready for a big smile.

These little ones are my transitional flowerpots.  After I generate roots on cuttings in a jar of water in the kitchen window, I”ll move them outdoors into soil.  Then when they get some established soil roots, I’ll move them to a permanent home in the garden.

This is such an easy way to recycle, and I LOVE it.  Thank you for dropping by today, means the world to me 🙂

 

 
15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 2:10 am

    Diane, I’ll say it again, you blow me away with your crafty creativity!

    This is AWESOME!

    And your directions/instructions are so clear and easy to read!

    You’re also such an inspiration for recycling! Something I really don’t do – bad boy, I know – HA!

    Hope you had a super weekend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  2. May 16, 2011 2:01 pm

    What a cute idea and I love the reusing of material that would be thrown away.

  3. May 16, 2011 4:02 pm

    those are WAY too cute diane! i definitely have to do that. thanks for the super sweet tutorial!

  4. May 16, 2011 10:34 pm

    Wow, so clever, you!

  5. May 16, 2011 10:35 pm

    How clever are you? That’s a great way to reuse those bags!

  6. May 17, 2011 12:58 pm

    Very very smart you are. I hang bird feeders from every possible spot here however.

  7. May 17, 2011 4:15 pm

    What a fabulous idea! I Love these!

  8. May 17, 2011 4:29 pm

    WoW. I like this idea. I have just started learning how to take cuttings to multiply my flowers. I also set them on the window in a little jar but haven’t moved any to soil yet. I think I want to make one of these mesh hangies.

  9. May 18, 2011 1:47 am

    Such an adorable idea 🙂

  10. May 19, 2011 4:41 am

    Another great idea! I knew there was a practical way of reusing those bags! Will you try growing the fruit that came in those bags in your little transitional pots?

    And glad you like the French Dresser! I think there will be more grey and white in my future 🙂

    Emily

  11. June 11, 2011 3:06 pm

    such a cute idea.

Trackbacks

  1. Make It: DIY Hanging Basket | love your way
  2. summertime … and the living is easy « home sweet homemade
  3. Make It: DIY Hanging Basket — Two Revisions
  4. diy hanging flowerpots « home sweet homemade

Leave a comment