Skip to content

diy hanging flowerpots

April 25, 2012

sometime last summer I published a post about the row of flowerpots adorning this backyard picket fence … and I’m just now getting around to writing the accompanying diy. 

it is indeed a diy project, because the little hanging contraptions do not appear to be available anymore.  thankfully they’re easy to make.

I originally bought a package of the wire flowerpot holders ages ago at a little garden store.  Using those as my model,  I purchased some galvanized fencing wire from the hardware store, since I don’t want them to rust.

Cut a length of wire long enough to fit the circumference of your small flowerpot beneth the rim, plus 8-10 inches.

Bend the wire in a circle, placed around your flowerpot, then using pliers, twist the two ends as close to the flowerpot as you can.

 

 Remove the flowerpot and continue to twist. Bend the ends apart at the top, leaving about an inch on each side – this is where they hold on behind the adjacent fence pickets.

 

This is an easy and cute way to adorn a plain picket fence with a bright bouquet of spring.  You just slide the twisted part between the pickets.

Just today I added the bracket with the hanging basket.  It’s one of those closet shelf/rod brackets that was stashed in the garage.  Might as well put it to good use.

And you might recall the hanging basket is also diy – made from a mesh produce bag. Fun way to upcycle – click here to read more about that project.

Anyway, it’s getting too late in the season to plant anymore, so we’ll just give them water and enjoy the blooms.

Happy gardening ~ and thank you so much for dropping by!

.

.

.

sharing with
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2012 6:40 pm

    Love these ideas. If I plant them will you come take care of them? The best thing I can do for flowering things is to leave them at the nursery. 😀
    pam

  2. April 25, 2012 6:41 pm

    Every time I stop by, Diane, you always share something that both inspires and delights me!

    What a simple yet, clever way to hang potted plants!

    And yes, I do remember your post last year when you shared about the hanging baskets made from a mesh produce bag. And yet, another awesome way to upcycle!

    And can I just tell you that your garden looks AMAZING! You have just a gifted green thumb, girl!

    Thanks for sharing! DElightful!

    Much X to you and C!

    P.S. great photos!

  3. April 25, 2012 6:56 pm

    Oh, now there’s a good idea! It’d save folks from putting holes in their fences AND you’ll still have pots/flowers to put out. Good idea!
    Only…what’s it do when you water? LOL Seriously–pots get heavier and ‘stuff’ comes out the bottoms of the darn things….
    I know, I know…..I wonder about the darnedest things! LOL

  4. April 26, 2012 11:23 am

    What a smart idea! Kinda makes me wish I had a picket fence…

  5. April 28, 2012 8:28 pm

    Very nice idea! I love clay pot art:)
    JoAnn

  6. May 4, 2012 11:14 am

    Oh, your grass is so green already…envious! We’re just now getting leaves on trees.
    Michael

Trackbacks

  1. Gardening is cheaper than therapy and you get tomatoes! « Life's too short to play possum!
  2. Flowerpots in the Air: How to Make Them Fly

Leave a Reply

