Skip to content

weekend quickie

April 3, 2011
tags: , ,
by

Making a fresh wreath for my kitchen door is long, long overdue.  And although I’ve seen many that are fabulous, one caught my eye last week, so I went that route with mine.  A simple jute twine wrapped circle embellished with a burlap flower.

I started with a heavy cardboard box and cut circles in the front and back panels, trimmed out a center circle and glued them together.

Wrapped the cardboard form with jute twine, squeezing the outside edge wrappings together closely.

Finally, add your embellishment of choice.  The one I saw had colorful paper flowers, and while those are indeed my favorite, I opted for a single flower with large burlap petals and added a tiny bit of sparkle with a few beads.

I cut a small square of cereal box cardboard and glued a square of burlap (same size) over it.  Then glued the flower to the burlap side of the square and glued the cardboard side of the square to the wreath.  Since the petals are merely sewn to each other with a couple of stitches, it needed more structural support.

Hope you had a lovely weekend and thank you for reading 🙂

.

.

Linking to

{re}create at Not So Simple Housewife
Tutorials and Tips Tuesday at Home Stories A to Z
Cure for the Common Monday at Lines Across my Face
Funky Junk Interiors
Dittle Dattle
Be Colorful
Rook No. 17
The Shabby Chic Cottage
Delightful Order
8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 3:52 am

    OMG Diane, this wreath is so dang CUTE!

    I adore the petal!

    I especially love how simplistic the overall design is. I LOVE simple!

    And the cool thing about it, is that each season you could add and subtract things to make it fit every holiday. I could definitely see a sprig of holly during the Christmas season, or fall leaves during Thanksgiving.

    Brava, Diane! Well done!

    Hope you and C are having lovely weekend….x

  2. April 3, 2011 7:24 am

    So creative! This is wonderful. I love Funky Junk Interiors too 🙂

  3. April 3, 2011 11:51 am

    Love your blog, creativ and inspiring

  4. April 12, 2011 4:56 am

    Diane, beautifully done! I love the texture and color of the jute and the way it’s complimented by the burlap flower!

    Thank you so much for sharing your creativity at Rook No. 17! It’s always a pleasure and a joy!

    Jenn

  5. July 28, 2011 7:00 am

    I really love this. It’s beautiful!

  6. July 29, 2011 3:34 pm

    cute, i’m featuring this today!

  7. July 29, 2011 4:54 pm

    Looks great!! Thanks for linking up to my party!
    Kaitlin-The Not So Simple Housewife
    http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com

Trackbacks

  1. string wrapped wreath revision « home sweet homemade

Leave a comment