Skip to content

fun with maps

March 11, 2011

I’ve been very fortunate with my craigslist purchase experiences.  The only little bump in the road was this small table.  I hadn’t intended to purchase it at all, but it came along with another one that I really did want to buy.

By the time I took this photo, I had already tried sanding and priming the tabletop.  It was far more damaged than I realized and I had neither the tools nor the knowledge to repair the surface.

The miracle of blogging intervened along the way and I witnessed many many before-and-after projects whose befores seemed far more pitiful than mine.  Surely I could borrow some of the wonderful ideas in the collective consciousness of the bloggy world to make this table more useful and attractive.

I’d give myself maybe a B- on this project.  These photographs are very forgiving and since I’m not a stickler for perfection, I’m okay with the outcome.  But in the spirit of full disclosure, it’s not perfect.

I like the mildly scuffed edges, the vintage drawer pull with the paint chipping away to reveal the pretty glass beneath and especially the colorful city map decoupaged to the top.

I used a street map for the city of Austin, Texas.  There were two reasons that I didn’t use a Houston map:  first, because I like artful look of the Colorado river twisting through the Austin map, and second, because Cristy wouldn’t let me cut up the only Houston map that we have.

The table may not remain in this room long, but for now this is its home.  Thanks so much for reading🙂

.

Linking to

Blog Block Party at Debbiedoos

Remodelaholic

Crazy Domestic

French Country Cottage

Becolorful

Savvy Southern Style

Making the World Cuter

House of Grace

29 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 3:05 am

    I think it turned out great! It’s such a big improvement! The map is really a cool touch. I’d call it a complete success!

  2. March 11, 2011 3:40 am

    Oh, no, no, no, no, not a B- at all, Diane!

    No, dear friend…I give it a HUGE A+. And I mean it!

    It’s BEYOND faaaaaaaaabulous!!!!! OMG, it doesn’t even look like the same table. I am so impressed with your work!

    It’s shabby-chic!!!!!

    I love looking at your photos and peeking around your house because it’s so beautiful. You and Cristy have impeccable taste! Your home looks so comfortable and happy!

    Hope you had a super Thursday.

    X to you and Cristy!

  3. March 11, 2011 5:26 pm

    I love this redo!

    I am having an antique auction on my blog. All sorts of lovely and romantic finds looking for a new home. I hope you’ll stop by.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

  4. March 11, 2011 6:25 pm

    You did an amazing job! A+ for sure! Love the decoupaged map! And that little table was screaming for a good coat of paint. Beautiful transformation! Thanks for sharing.

  5. March 11, 2011 8:54 pm

    WOW Diane! I absolutely love what you did with it! It looks fantastic, clean and pretty!

  6. March 11, 2011 8:58 pm

    Love this–the map is inspired. You are too hard on yourself!

  7. March 11, 2011 10:34 pm

    You know, this table was pretty before, pretty wood and pretty lines, but now it is so fun and has great personality!

  8. March 11, 2011 10:50 pm

    Well, I think it’s perfect.🙂 I love the map idea. Did you mod-podge it on? Is there a protective covering on it or something? So curious! Great job!

  9. March 11, 2011 11:35 pm

    I think this looks fantastic! What are you talking about… a B- …?! pfft. It’s an A project.

  10. March 12, 2011 10:48 am

    I have mad love for this table. It looks fantastic; brilliant idea! XOL

  11. March 13, 2011 5:53 pm

    What a darling project- sometimes the best pieces were not our intended purchase in the first place. Well done. Thanks for sharing at FNF!🙂

  12. March 14, 2011 3:12 pm

    Fabulous makeover, I love it. The map idea is wonderful and I had to laugh at your comment about liking the way the Colorado River twists through Austin. Very clever indeed.

  13. March 14, 2011 10:16 pm

    i. LOOOOVE it! A++

    I love projects like this, but never have the time… my whole house is full of this stuff, but i paid tons of money for it already done by someone else =(

    BUT, i have a brand spankin new DIY section on my blog, which means, i’m gonna have to start doing more of this stuff!!! Hey, perhaps you should guest post ;))

  14. March 16, 2011 2:28 pm

    Just so Very fun!!! Great transformation!!
    & I LOVE the chair/couch?? sitting next to it.. beautiful fabric.
    (stopping by from Becolorful)

  15. March 16, 2011 9:48 pm

    I think you did a fabulous job! It looks really good ~

  16. March 16, 2011 11:00 pm

    Yes, A++++ for sure! So creative! Thanks for sharing, Becca

    http://www.adventuresindecorating1.blogspot.com

  17. March 22, 2011 10:51 am

    Wow! you wouldn’t think its the same table. You did a fantastic job with it. Love the color and the map is a nice touch. Well done.

  18. June 19, 2011 11:53 pm

    Hi Diann..thanks for joining the summer paint party. Please add my link or now the button that actually works. This is such a fun party and I hope you enjoy it.

  19. June 20, 2011 12:59 am

    What a great idea… I love it visiting from Debbie’s

  20. June 20, 2011 1:32 am

    Beautiful transformation, I love it.

  21. June 20, 2011 2:56 am

    I have the exact same table on my front porch! I painted it white about 12 years ago. She’s had a few touchups over the years, but she’s still going strong. I love your idea of putting the map on the top.

  22. June 20, 2011 3:00 am

    I give it an A ,its fabulous! visiting from The Blog paint party, your my neighbor!.

  23. June 20, 2011 6:04 pm

    I have 2 almost identical end tables that hubby bought for $6.00 each and I have been thinking about painting them. Thanks for your inspiration as I have now decided that I need to paint those babies!!

    LOL!!

    Hugs,
    Debbie

  24. June 20, 2011 9:11 pm

    The table looks so updated and sweet.

  25. kathy permalink
    June 22, 2011 1:19 pm

    love your ideas.

  26. June 25, 2011 1:03 pm

    What a cute idea! Love it!

  27. February 5, 2012 4:07 am

    I know I’m a little late to the party, but this table is awesome. I love maps (esp. Texas ones!) and this is a great way to use them…I’m totally going to copy this when I find the right piece of furniture.

    BTW, I never thanked you for putting a link to my blog on your sidebar. I get a pretty decent amount of traffic from your website and I just want you to know that I appreciate it!

Trackbacks

  1. the caged dressform « home sweet homemade
  2. favorite projects of 2011 « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

