Skip to content

the caged dressform

July 6, 2011
tags:
by

my glamorous sister-in-law has a lovely home with a beautiful mixture of accessories — chief among them, a collection of dress forms.  She is in the fashion industry, so it makes perfect sense and I’ve admired her pretty collection for years.

while I was at the architectural salvage place last week, I spied a caged version of a dress form and purchased it on the spot.  Of course it helped that it was a reproduction and had a price tag corresponding to the fact that it is a widely available decorative item (rather than a rare antique).  But that’s perfectly ok with me.

now at home in the parlor, it gives a feminine touch to the general ambiance in this cozy room.

The map table is now at home here, as is the armchair with the lingerie strap slipcover

The scarf tied at her waist belonged to my mom and I frequently accessorized with it playing dress-up as a very young girl. 

The room is still an evolving project, but this little caged dress form is a perfect addition to its evolution.

Thank you for visiting today, I truly enjoy your company!

.

.

Linking to

Primp Your Stuff Wednesday at {Primp}
It’s a Party at A Creative Princess
Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage
Inspired by You Wednesday at Eisy Morgan
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Amaze me Monday at Dittle Dattle
Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring
Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Chic Cottage
Share the Love Wednesday at Very Merry Vintage Style
Wow us Wednesdays at Savvy Southern Style
Nifty Thrifty Tuesday at Coastal Charm
15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 1:41 am

    I love that and love this room. Great hutch. Thanks for joining WUW.

  2. July 6, 2011 1:43 am

    What a fun addition to your room! Your mom’s scarf is a wonderful personal touch – love it. Your sister’s collection sounds wonderful especially given her profession. Fun post!

  3. July 6, 2011 3:12 am

    Diane…I LOVE it!!!!!

    What a wonderful find. And I adore how you ‘dressed’ it with the scarf. Faaaaaabulous touch!

    And can I just say (once again)….that I love your home. You’ve inspired me to add more COLOR into my life. Which, btw, has a lot to do with WHY I felt inspired to change my blog design. So, thank you, my friend!

    Hope you had a FAB day!

    X to you and Cristybella!

    P.S. love your cute dog in the first photo!

  4. July 6, 2011 5:16 am

    I just went and had a peek at your lingerie slipcover……………..
    I love it! And I love that you are using your mothers scarf!

  5. July 6, 2011 1:02 pm

    I’m so glad that you shared your find with us! My daughter is in fashion merchandising and also collects dress forms. Yours is just so beautiful…I’m glad to know there are affordable reproductions out there.

  6. July 6, 2011 3:10 pm

    That’s such a pretty room! Your dress form looks very at home there.🙂

  7. July 6, 2011 9:18 pm

    Love the map table and the chandelier, the dress form is great as well- I would love all three in my home!

  8. July 7, 2011 8:04 am

    I love that dressform! I am looking for one to do a mosaic on with mother of pearl for my bedroom!

    Veronica
    http://www.tasselsandtwigs.blogspot.com

  9. July 7, 2011 3:34 pm

    I love it, and you mom’s scarf is the perfect touch. I would have bought her too:-) Your room is looking mighty good. Pupster is looking real comfortable…what a cutie.

  10. July 8, 2011 12:56 am

    Thanks for commenting on my blog and yes I finally picked I mirror I’d better put pics of it up soon! I love these girly figurines so feminine aren’t they, I have one in my bedroom with all my necklaces hanging off it. Gorgeous🙂

  11. July 9, 2011 3:51 am

    See now I would walk right by something like that thinking…what I’m I going to do with a dress form? But look how incredible, soft and charming it looks in that space! I am so in love with it, that I’ll now be on the lookout for one!🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment! I would love to see how your family “rules” (or the cousin version-ha ha) turns out-how fun!
    Angela

  12. July 11, 2011 2:09 am

    I love the dress form! DD1 has degrees in fashion merchandising and marketing. Also has a thing for dress forms.
    Dropping by from Met Monday. I’ll hope you’ll come see the nursery I helped create for my first grandchild.

    Allison
    Atticmag

  13. July 11, 2011 6:29 pm

    This is so pretty! Thanks for sharing!

  14. July 13, 2011 8:47 am

    that dress form is gorgeous!!!

Trackbacks

  1. trio of slipcovers « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

