Skip to content

things I love – the clock edition

February 17, 2011

My Cristybella happens to love clocks as functional timepieces.  Not only does she likes to maintain constant awareness of the current time, she likes to have access to this information from any vantage point in our home.

OK, maybe I might be exaggerating.  Slightly.  But consider this true statement:  8 out of 13 rooms in our house have at least one clock.  Some have more than one (4 being the current maximum).

We have bandied about the idea of installing a large clock, like a tower clock, both for function and fun.

Like this spectacular example of a tower clock as a big focal point, mentioned by Joni Webb at Cote de Texas.

When I first saw that post I was smitten.  That clock is a lovely timepiece.  And the Paris apartment is just, well, gorgeous.  Consequently, I’ve been trying to pay attention to unusual clocks a little bit more.

So when Susan at Between Naps on the Porch posted photos of her recent antiquing  foray, I spied this ginormous clock in the background (to the right, see?).  Hmmm.  Very interesting.

Crisy and I are planning an antiquing trip soon (Warrenton/Round Top).  Something to think about.

Then today, I saw two similar DIY examples of unusual clocks that are full of fun and whimsy.  The first example from Tanya at Dans le Townhouse features a ring of world globes.  That’s memorable.

 

But what about this variation on the same theme, featuring cute little alarm clocks (from freshome via Sarah at sara.wandering).     This is clever!  And funny!  And fresh!

 

Clocks represent a creatively lovely intersection between science, pragmatism, design, history and pure imaginative artistry.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 11:18 pm

    I’m SO smitten with big clocks too. We have an antique station clock in our dining room that I smile at every time I see it. I’d love a big tower clock somewhere like the one in the Paris apartment.

    Sarahx

  2. February 18, 2011 1:07 am

    I’m like Cristybella, I have a clock positioned on each wall of my apartment, so I can see the time ALL the time!

    LOVE these, Diane! They’re faaaaaaaaaaaabulous!

    I especially love the alarm clock one. It’s ADORABLE!

    Thanks for sharing such talent!

    X

  3. February 18, 2011 4:57 am

    Those clocks are just so cool! I love the one made with the mini alarm clocks! 🙂 Great blog!

  4. February 18, 2011 8:18 pm

    I like having a clock in every room, too. Sometimes more than one. A few years ago, I was looking on Ebay, and found a milk glass clock face from a clock tower. It was 5 feet in diameter, and it had black roman numerals. It was gorgeous! I wanted it! But it was $5000, and that didn’t include shipping.

    Someday.

Leave a Reply

