Skip to content

things I love – the Mod Podge edition

February 16, 2011

I bought my first jar of Mod Podge recently. 

See, I have this cute little side table that’s been sitting in my garage for … let’s just say a long time.  It was a $20 acquisition via Craigslist.  As I was sanding the top preparing for the primer, I noticed that the surface finish was rather poor.  More sanding didn’t seem to help.  I applied primer anyway, but the uneven surface is still visible.

So I threw a drop cloth over the table and walked away from that project for an (ahem) extended cooling off period.  But now, I’m thinking the brilliance of Mod Podge can help turn this sad story around.

Look at this completely inspired example of a transformation from Sew Woodsy !

 

I could maybe do that.  Or what about this clever re-do from the Crafting Chicks?

They make it look so easy.  Perhaps it really is easy.  And another pretty example from The Cozy Green Cocoon illustrates how I could just cover up the flaws in that table top with the magic of Mod Podge.

 

I’m not exactly sure where I’m going to place this little table yet, so I might need to think about that before I leap ahead and select a fabric to cover the top.  But my new jar of Mod Podge is standing by…

Thanks for reading

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 6:56 pm

    OMG, these are sooooooooo cool-looking, Diane!

    I’ve been learning so much since reading your wonderful blog. I had not idea what Mod Podge was?!?

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    Happy Wednesday, my friend!

    X

  2. February 17, 2011 6:53 pm

    Hi there! Thanks for your comment on my blog. I didn’t post a photo of the teacup clock, but I did post one of the globe clock I mentioned. You can find it here:
    http://dans-le-townhouse.blogspot.com/2010/12/inspiration-casual-rooms.html

    I love these ideas you’ve posted about. The stool is so cute. I have a bare wood stool just like it that needs some sprucing up. Thanks!

  3. February 17, 2011 10:27 pm

    All those examples you’ve shown are so cute! That chest is my favorite, though. Mod Podge is fun to use.
    I read somewhere that you can use Elmer’s school glue the same way, so I tried it. It works just the same. Thin it down a little with water and you can’t even tell the difference.

Leave a Reply

