Skip to content

pair o’ mittens

November 18, 2011

Seems that a wide ribbon of nostalgia weaves itself right through the middle of my holiday season.  My artistically talented mommy made lots of Christmas decorations for the home and tree when my brother and I were very young children and I’m grateful to have some of these on my tree.

She sewed the sequin embellishments on those little felt mittens and I have always loved how sweet and festive they look on the tree, connected together with their pretty gold laniard.

I decided to try a few styles of home sweet homemade mittens this season.  I applied the collage stripe method to the first pair and added a snippet from a discarded sweater to the wrist, just for fun.

I made the next pair with corrugated cardboard and used white muslin to offset the wrist and a vintage button in the center.  Cristy says they remind her of potato chips. 🙂 She makes me laugh.

My plan was originally to make a single mitten hanging ornament as a gift tag with the gift recipient’s initial as embellishment for the mitten.  I might adopt this plan for small remembrance gifts.  I thought the pair of mittens would be cute for couples with one initial per mitten.  You know what I mean?

***

If I haven’t mentioned lately how much I appreciate you sharing this space with me, this place of imagination, let me offer my most sincere thanks.  I am more grateful than I can say.  The community of bloggers is positive and supportive.  A blessing and a treasure.  Thank you.  xoxo

.

.

.

sharing with
Once Upon a Weekend at Family Ever After
White Wednesday at Faded Charm Cottage
The Inspiration Board at homework
Nifty Thrifty Sunday at Nifty Thrifty Things
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2011 1:19 pm

    Okay. I love ’em both! (and I do see the potato chip similarity! LOL)

    You’re so blessed to have things passed on from your childhood. Ohmygosh…..look at those mittens with the beads and sequins diligently sewn on. (isn’t fabric glue an amazing thing! LOL) What a cool mom.

    Quit making cute things!
    *laughing*
    I’m still working on making pretties with my paper beads and I have holiday cards to make!

    😉

  2. November 18, 2011 3:03 pm

    Uh, I can’t get over that your tree is up. I just took down Halloween. 🙂

    The Make is Merry announcement is up on my blog today.

  3. November 18, 2011 3:42 pm

    Diane, these are DARLING!

    OMG…how CUTE!!!!!

    You are so dang creative!

    “My artistically talented mommy made lots of Christmas decorations for the home and tree when my brother and I were very young children and I’m grateful to have some of these on my tree.”

    Loved the ones your mom made. And I can’t get over how detailed they are!

    This made me HOWL….

    ” Cristy says they remind her of potato chips. ”

    Bwhahahahahahahahaha! She’s right! And it’s funny, because yesterday for lunch I had a chicken salad sandwich with a bag of ruffled potato chips!

    Have fantabulous weekend, dear friend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  4. November 21, 2011 2:54 am

    Really, seriously, they are beyond cute. I bet these “potato” chips muffins don’t have any calories. These really are too cute not to share. Would you please share these at Sunday’s Best party going on now. Pretty please. Sharing is a good thing.

  5. November 23, 2011 1:30 am

    love them! we do an ornament every year and these may be this years! thx for sharing!

  6. November 23, 2011 8:31 pm

    cute!
    tot

  7. November 26, 2011 7:30 pm

    They’re all so cute and fun! They look great on the tree. Would you share here?

    http://oneartmama.blogspot.com/2011/11/shine-on-fridays-3-and-some-fabulous.html

  8. December 17, 2011 6:11 am

    I love your mittens, especially the card board ones.
    Lezlee

Trackbacks

  1. The Inspiration Board: link party spotlight ~25~ | homework: creative inspiration for home and life

Leave a comment