Skip to content

reflection. and gratitude.

November 17, 2011
by

There has been a lot in the news lately.  Cristy and I have been discussing these topics and we cannot locate understanding or reason.  At the same time, my personal schedule has shifted along with the time change, affecting my creativity and blog timing.

That’s a lot of static to carry around in my head.  the answer, in this season of gratitude, is reflection.

In my 50 years on this planet, the summer of 1989 stands out in my memory as the time when I began, as an adult, to comprehend the concept of courageously living with intent.

In an unprecendented outburst of violence against peaceful demonstrators in Beijing, the Chinese army opened fire, killing and injuring hundreds.  The unarmed civilians occupying Tiananmen Square were expressing outrage at widespread government corruption and demanded a path to democracy.

Along with everyone else around the world, I witnessed an unidentified man who attempted to block the progress of military tanks merely by standing in their path.  In this single courageous act, he gathered the entire force of his humanity to quietly denounce wrong.

Inspiring acts of humanity occur every day.  This one just stands out for me.  And I am so grateful.  It makes me want to strive to be a better person.  To learn the lessons with which I am presently struggling.  To gather the entire force of my humanity to quietly promote good.

I promise to return to my regular publishing content soon.

Thank you for understanding.  I know that you do.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2011 3:25 pm

    Yes, my friend, I DO understand because I feel the same way about what’s going on in the news lately, so thank you for sharing this reflective and inspiring post.

    “Inspiring acts of humanity occur every day. This one just stands out for me. And I am so grateful. It makes me want to strive to be a better person. To learn the lessons with which I am presently struggling. To gather the entire force of my humanity to quietly promote good.”

    Amen!

    Sharing a BIG hug with you today….

    (((((( You ))))))

    Much X to you and Cristybella!

    P.S. loved the video. I so remember that song!

  2. November 18, 2011 1:15 pm

    Wow…..
    All scenes I well recall–the sole man moved to stand in front of the tanks, one that’s forever etched in my mind.
    And this song, done by Peter, Paul and Mary……funny how come lyrics you just remember despite not having heard the song for a very long time.

    Inspiring acts of humanity don’t get enough air time. Or so it seems to me.
    I’ve given up newspapers and television. I rely on he-who-must-have-his-daily-dose to keep me up to date on that which I must know. The rest–he files away and graciously shows me those inspiring acts when he stumbles upon them.
    I need those. They keep me centered in what’s good, what’s true, and what I aspire to bring to others.

    And can I mention I loved the video–ohmygosh what great shots of the steam trains.
    <– train freak. LOL

  3. November 19, 2011 4:34 am

    I still can’t watch the footage of that moment without crying. I remember being in awe of him when I first saw it, and wondering if I’d ever have that much courage. My daughter did a power point report for school on the uprising, and she set it to music. Carry on young gentlemen by Teddy Geiger. It all happened before she was born, but it had a strong affect on her, too.

    The time change always throws me for a loop, too. It usually takes me about a month to go back to normal. I don’t know why 1 hour makes that such a difference, but it does. I hope you have a great weekend, and a Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

