Skip to content

things i love – beads

July 14, 2011

four times per year the spectacle that is the gem and jewelry show rolls out the red carpet in Houston.  I have dutifully attended on numerous occasions and will be there again. this coming weekend.

sparkly things of all kinds. as far as the eye can see.  sensory overload, in a good way 🙂

I love beads and love to find ways to enjoy them (besides the obvious choice of wearing them – that’s a given!).

A while back, I made a pretty little beaded garland for my dining room mirror.  Still love it!

and this bright garland embellished with an assorted mix of pretty beads

 

and combined sparkly beads, buttons and seashell fragments for a pretty windchime.

I also use them for adorning homemade tassels, gift wrapping embellishments, and Christmas tree decorations.  But with the bead show just around the corner, I need MORE inspiration.  So I turned to the collective blog consciousness for more inspiration.

Look how Jessica Enig of Such Pretty Things embellished her chandelier with mixed beads.  This is such a sweetly feminine look (click on image to get to her chandelier garland post).

and here’s a brilliant idea from Martha Stewart’s website for adding a beaded garland to the bottom of a plain lampshade.  It’s simply perfect!

Pandora, at Home and Decor, offers several examples of incorporating beads into window treatments for a pretty look without the 1970s kitchiness.

All of these are completely fabulous!  Please share any marvelous creations you’ve made or seen with beads too – thank you so much for reading 🙂

.

.

.

Linking to

Show and Share Day at Just a Girl
Amaze Me Monday at Dittle Dattle
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Debbiedoo’s Newbie Party
Masterpiece Monday at Boogieboard Cottage
Sunday Showcase at Under the Table and Dreaming by Stephanie Lynn
Fridays Unfolded at Stuff and Nonsense
Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring
Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage
It’s a Party at A Creative Princess
{Re}create at Not So Simple Housewife
Catch a Glimpse at A Glimpse Inside
Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Chic Cottage
12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 4:56 pm

    Beads make me drool :p I have bead lust!
    I love attending all of the bead shows in Dallas and spending too much money.

  2. July 14, 2011 6:00 pm

    Like the idea of jazzing up a lamp with beads – might have to try that myself.

  3. July 14, 2011 9:19 pm

    i. love. beads.

    in fact, i started making jewelry for awhile and have piles of beads in my garage i’m waiting for something to do with!

  4. July 14, 2011 11:51 pm

    “All of these are completely fabulous!”

    You said it, Diane! Faaaaaaabulous!

    I’m especially lovin’ that beaded window treatment by Pandora – WOW!

    And the chandelier by Jessica is stunning!

    Even though I don’t do beadwork, I love to stop into a bead shop that is a few blocks away from where I live, just to LOOK at them!

    Hope you had a super day, my friend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  5. July 15, 2011 3:02 am

    Thank for visiting my blog. I love all the beads and would love to sometime go to a bead show. I used to make jewelry all the time until the price of silver went so high I wasn’t making any money. But I loved it. Now I just make for myself. I’ve never posted any jewelry though…maybe I should!

  6. July 15, 2011 5:40 pm

    I’m loving all of the beads too! Thanks so much for linking it up to my {re}create into something new blog party! Hope to see you next week for some more awe inspiring transformations!

    Kaitlin–The Not So Simple Housewife
    http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com

  7. July 16, 2011 9:55 pm

    How fun is that bead show going to be!! I would go crazy! Thank you so much for linking up!

  8. July 18, 2011 12:39 am

    Beads are wonderful. They add the bling to almost anything. Great pictures!

  9. July 18, 2011 1:05 am

    Those are all great examples! I haven’t ever done much with beads, but I really love what you’ve done. I hope you find some more inspiration. 🙂

  10. July 18, 2011 2:41 pm

    For me, I thought the beads on the chandelier were quite fun and would be something I could see myself doing. Love that you put something that is so uniquely you into your decorating. Thanks for linking up to Motivated Monday.
    Pam

  11. July 20, 2011 1:01 pm

    Very pretty beads and such a pretty variety of color. Thanks for sharing at my newbie party.

  12. June 30, 2016 6:51 am

    I just love your hanging beads thay are beautiful especially around the windows

Leave a comment