Skip to content

mirror jewelry

April 10, 2011

Like most other people, we have a few mirrors in the house.  They reflect light and we like how they help to make the rooms sparkle.  To add a touch of home sweet homemade style, I concocted a few embellishments to adorn each mirror.  All include beads or repurposed jewelry parts.

First, the bedroom mirror, a pretty antique that at one time sat atop a vanity.  Alas, we never knew that lovely piece of furniture.

 

All of the charms that adorn this mirror are parts from bracelets, earrings or pendants, grouped together in interesting bundles. 

 

The pinkish heart pendant belonged to my great grandmother, but the rest of the jewelry pieces belong to Cristy and me. 

 

In the dining room, there is an oblong mirror along the interior wall adorned with a collection of beads from a broken necklace.

I tied these little baubles to the jute twine strand serving as the garland with bits of lace from an old slip.

On to the living room.  Last year we used this large mirror on the mantle as a backdrop for our wedding.

After the wedding, we moved it to the left of the fireplace beneath the bookshelves to help reflect light in that shadowy niche.

To break up the reflecion, we adorned it with old wrist watches and random pendants.

To hang each piece, I merely cut a piece of string and looped it on the object, then tied the ends in an overhand knot and suspended it from a small finishing nail inserted between the mirror glass and the fiberboard backing behind it.  Gravity does the work to keep them stable.

Thank you for reading and let me know about any tips you have for adorning mirrors; I’m still working on the mirror in the front hallway.  Even after several embellishing attempts I haven’t quite gotten it right.

.

.

Linking to

Sat Nite Special at Funky Junk Interiors

French Country Cottage

Finding Fabulous

A Glimpse Inside

The Shabby Chic Cottage

Savvy Southern Style

House of Grace

Coastal Charm

Boogieboard Cottage

Debbiedoo’s

Making the World Cuter

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2011 11:21 pm

    Diane, these are so fabulous I could SCREAM!

    Each one is so unique and truly remarkable! It totally blows me away how creative you are because I would have never thought to do this.

    Once again, you’ve inspired me, my friend!

    LOVE! LOVE! LOVE them!

    Hope you had a marvi weekend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  2. April 11, 2011 12:18 am

    Very pretty! All I’ve ever done is paint a mirror.

  3. April 11, 2011 7:06 pm

    What a great idea, Diane. And may I say that I LOVE the colour of that room. It’s similar to the colour that we’re thinking of for our living room later this year. It looks so lovely and restful and serene but quietly stylish at the same time. Just like you!!

    Sarahx

  4. April 11, 2011 8:26 pm

    The beads and watches you’ve used look so unique and quirky, I really love the effect on the round mirror especially🙂

    Jem xXx

  5. April 12, 2011 12:17 am

    How “cool” is this? I’m sooooo lovin’ all your neat ideas and thanks for sharing them at NTT!

    Blessings,
    Linda

  6. April 12, 2011 2:30 pm

    This is very original and unique, I have never seen something like this and must say I absolutely love the idea! You are one talented and creative cookie🙂
    I am visiting form Debbie’s newbie party and am your newest follower, have a wonderful day!

  7. April 13, 2011 8:07 am

    such a simple and great idea!
    take care,
    Rosa

  8. April 14, 2011 1:14 pm

    So clever! I love the hanging watches. I totally need to do this since I never seem to wear any jewelry these days … sigh

    -Stephanie
    henry  happened

  9. April 16, 2011 10:02 pm

    This is so fresh and fun! Beautiful job!

  10. April 17, 2011 3:15 am

    Really unique and pretty~ love how it turned out~ well done! Thanks for sharing at FNF!🙂

Trackbacks

  1. pink explosion « home sweet homemade
  2. repurposed door « home sweet homemade
  3. things i love – beads « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

