Skip to content

adorning the fence

April 4, 2011
by

Last year we built a fence for the dog run portion of the yard, to keep them away from the pool when we’re not supervising.  The dogs fall into the pool more often than I can even believe.

The fence isn’t ornate or attractive, but it isn’t unattractive either.  It’s just a nondescript fence.

Cristy had the wonderful idea last week to line the fence with small flowerpots and I think it is a big improvement.

I tried to locate more of these wire hoops holding the flowerpots to continue the prettiness down the rest of the fence, but was not successful.  I suppose I could try to make more myself.

And just to check in with the baby zinnias, here are the 3-week olds

and the 1-week olds.  This seed sprouting experience is very exciting.

Very exciting indeed.  I check on them at every opportunity.  You know, just to see.

Thank you for reading!

Linking to

The Shabby Chic Cottage

Ask Anna

Be Colorful

Coastal Charm

Delightful Order

A Glimpse Inside

French Country Cottage

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 12:37 am

    *applause*

    Please tell Cristy I said, BRAVA! OMG, that looks freakin’ fabulous!

    Your little baby sprouts are ADORABLE!

    How lovely your home is!

    And great photos, Diane! They’re so crisp and clear!

    Hope you ladies had a marvi Monday!

    X to you both!

  2. April 5, 2011 3:29 am

    so sweet…love this idea! would love to see you link up to Cottage Flora Thursday’s this week – xoxo, Tracie

  3. April 5, 2011 5:28 am

    Such a cute idea. Fences can be so ugly, but yours defied the odds! I’ve never seen wire holders like those but let us know if you end up making them. I would love a tutorial.

    Also, I posted up more of my pictures from Round Top! I bet you saw all the same stuff!

    Emily
    lovelybeasts.blogspot.com

  4. April 5, 2011 1:47 pm

    Now that’s one NIFTY THRIFTY idea…love the look of it!!! Thanks so much for sharing it at NTT!

    Blessings,
    Linda

  5. April 5, 2011 7:48 pm

    oh i just love it! looks great!

  6. April 9, 2011 2:17 am

    What a lovely idea! And I have enjoyed wandering around through your other recent blog posts too.
    🙂

  7. April 15, 2011 7:08 pm

    I love this……..I need to do this around my chicken coop!!!

  8. Anna permalink
    April 25, 2011 4:57 pm

    What a great idea! I love the flowerpots on the fence, I might have to try that. Thanks for linking up to my Weekend Warrior link party!

    Anna
    http://www.askannamoseley.com

  9. May 26, 2011 8:11 pm

    I love this idea. The moss roses will be gorgeous when they’re all blooming.

    Nancy

  10. May 27, 2011 3:53 am

    This is a great idea. It really looks good and they look so easy to water now.

Trackbacks

  1. diy hanging flowerpots « home sweet homemade

Leave a comment