Skip to content

crafting room pinboard

February 19, 2012

I’m eager to finish the shelves in my crafting room after installing the first three a couple of weeks ago.  But first, I needed to hang a pinboard over the cameo desk, to understand where to place the shelves since they will be sharing space on that wall.  Trouble was, I didn’t have a pinboard.

Saturday, I popped into the neighborhood thrift store hoping to find a large painting in a pretty frame.  Oh lucky day!

This well proportioned frame works perfectly.  I just removed the canvas, painted the frame surface and anchored utility wire into the rabbet (recess where the painting rests) with little wood screws.

So I suppose technically, it’s not a pinboard since there is no surface in which to push actual pins.

I just don’t know the name for this style of pinboard.  What is it called?

It’s exactly what I had in mind.  Except perhaps for the pink acrylic paint I sponged over the silver after having a dream about it.  Looked different in the dream.  Oh well, I’m keeping it for now.

Thank you for dropping in today, I’m always so excited and humbled that friends pop in to read this blog.  I really do appreciate you!

.

.

.

sharing with
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
nifty thrifty Sunday at nifty thrifty things
9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2012 11:52 pm

    “Saturday, I popped into the neighborhood thrift store hoping to find a large painting in a pretty frame.”

    What a clever idea, Diane!

    Three things I adore about this creation:

    1) How you anchored wire to the frame as your means to clip on items.

    2) How you used tiny wooden clothes pins to clip them on.

    3) How you left the back opened, to expose the wall.

    BRILLIANT!

    Hope you had a faaaaaaaabulous weekend, my friend!

    Much X to you and Cristybella!

  2. February 20, 2012 2:47 am

    Ohhhhhh……I sooooooooo want a neighborhood thrift store!!!

    Notsomuch.
    I shoulda went on a salvage mission while the neighbor was emptying out his garage. Dangitall! Ah well. Maybe I’ll find an auction! That’d be fun!

    I think you call this one ‘Cuteness On the Wall’. Or–COW.
    *laughing* That’s what I think you oughta call it. I mean, you can’t exactly NOT name it–where are ya gonna tell folks you put the adorable hearts?

    I guess you could call it whozit, but where’s the fun in that?

    It IS cuteness on the wall! Well done!

  3. February 20, 2012 3:41 am

    I’d call it a classy memo board-or something. 🙂 . It’s pretty cool, whatever you name it!

  4. February 20, 2012 2:56 pm

    I’d call it a cool looking message board. Nice job.

  5. February 20, 2012 3:49 pm

    That’s a great creative spin on a pin board. Not sure what you’d call it – maybe a catch-all board? Love the little clothespins 🙂

    Sorry about that Tiny Bubbles thing!

  6. February 20, 2012 5:31 pm

    awesome! love the wire, of course. great idea and it would work in any room if you ever wanted to move it around the house.

  7. susan gillenwaters permalink
    February 25, 2012 7:05 pm

    I love this inspiration board. I never would have thought to put the wire. Very clever.

Trackbacks

  1. more fun with yardsticks « home sweet homemade
  2. Ideas para reciclar marcos viejos

Leave a comment