Skip to content

Make it Merry – Christmas tree toppers

November 27, 2011

Today is the third day of the collaborative Make it Merry blog project.  Over the span of 14 days, 14 creative bloggers will publish DIY inspiration to make the season merry and bright.  If you have not checked out the first two installments, by all means click over now to catch up!

Day 1 – Kassi at Truly Lovely

Day 2 – Vanessa at nifty thrifty things

Today is a glimpse into the DIY wonderfulness of  Christmas trees.  Two of the indoor trees here are mostly home sweet homemade.  Including the decorations at the tippy-top.  They are made of fabric-wrapped wire, embellished with buttons.  A white button star adorns the tree in the dining room.

And this year I made a tree topper in the shape of a crown for the parlor tree.

Here’s the quick and easy how-to.  All you need is utility wire, fabric scraps and buttons.

First bend your wire into an outline of the shape you want and twist the ends together.  For the crown, weave a second strand of wire through the middle for stability and twist those ends into place.

Next, cover the wire by wrapping with scraps of pretty fabric.

Finally, add some shiny buttons (I painted mismatched buttons with silver nail polish).

Secure it to the tree top and stand back to admire.

Many of the ornaments on the parlor tree are made from junk mail paper.  I’ve been working on these crafts all year.  Here are some examples:  the cowboy boot, paper bead garland, button loop tassel and angelfish.  All totally DIY.

The dining room tree is larger, but still filled with home sweet homemade delights.

Paper oak leaves, button garland, tiny jingle bell wreaths and folded paper ornaments.

The homemade sweetness of both trees whisks me to the place where Christmas magic lives.  And the crowning glory of both, the button adornments at the top, make my heart sing for joy.  Wishing you holiday magic as you decorate your trees for the season!

And don’t forget to continue with us on the Make it Merry blog adventure.  There’s so much more in store!

Nifty Thrifty Things home sweet homemade Project Possessed Blue Velvet Chair homework
Meridian Road Modern Country Style
Truly Lovely Jill Ruth & Co. Rustique Art hello lovely inc. Decor to Adore Inspire Me Heather Ladybird Ln Image Map

.

.

.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2011 4:00 pm

    “The homemade sweetness of both trees whisks me to the place where Christmas magic lives. And the crowning glory of both, the button adornments at the top, make my heart sing for joy. ”

    Yes! And that’s EXACT how I felt when looking at these photos, Diane!

    Christmas magic LIVES!

    LOVE your new crown tree topper. Soooooooooo clever you are!

    And I also love that you have BOTH your trees up already. You GO, girl!

    Wishing you a faaaaaabulous holiday season, and looking forward to your festive creations!

    Hope you’re enjoying a wonderful weekend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  2. November 27, 2011 4:19 pm

    love those paper hearts. I may have to copy that someday for my tree.
    Thanks for the ideas.
    P

  3. November 27, 2011 5:01 pm

    Great idea! I love the star!

  4. November 27, 2011 7:17 pm

    fabulous!

    the star is enchanting, and the crown…oooh, can i make some to have lying around just for fun????

    on with the merriment!

    michele

  5. November 27, 2011 7:39 pm

    So creative! I never would have thought to adorn the top of trees this way! Great inspiration and instruction! I also love the handmade ornaments – so sweet and exuding of love. 🙂

  6. November 28, 2011 12:47 am

    Oh…I’ve made paper beads so I knowwww how much time and energy goes in to that garland alone.

    I just gotta tell ya, I LOVE the trees. Absolutely. NOW I get how you’ve spent the weekend/evenings. LOL They’re just adorable.
    If I get started now, I could be ready for next years Hanukkah Bush!! 🙂

    This years is up–without paper bead garland cuz it’s just too darn cute to hang on to.
    *laughing* Go figure!

  7. FABBY permalink
    November 28, 2011 2:42 am

    I love your trees, goodness, some trees! I love the home made star, it’s amazing! Thanks for sharing this loveliness at Cielo’s. FABBY

  8. November 28, 2011 2:44 am

    I barely put up one tree a year, you have two? Wow. I love the junk paper ornaments that’s really creative of you. The pallor tree has a large heart on it, is that made out of sheet music? It really looks nice. Your trees are beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing at Sunday’s Best.

  9. November 28, 2011 3:04 pm

    Homemade sweetness for sure! I love using junk mail and scrap paper and you’ve made such neat adornments with it!

  10. November 28, 2011 3:25 pm

    You have been very busy. Love your trees and all of your homemade goodness. New follower.
    Audrey

  11. November 28, 2011 5:43 pm

    Both trees look so pretty! I love homemade Christmas ornaments because they have so much more meaning.
    I’ll bet the garland took forever to make.

  12. November 28, 2011 6:55 pm

    I’m in love with your Christmas trees, Diane!!
    They’re so pretty with all the nifty thrifty and decorative homemade ornaments and the fun, beautiful tree toppers!
    Hugs,
    Vanessa @ {nifty thrifty things}

  13. November 28, 2011 8:32 pm

    I love the homespun look of the crown. What a great tree topper.

  14. November 28, 2011 11:35 pm

    I love seeing some handmade elements on the Christmas tree!! It feels a little more loved that way… 😉

  15. November 29, 2011 2:06 am

    How fun, funky and cute! Laura

  16. November 29, 2011 6:02 pm

    awwwww love these homemade ornaments!! and such a great idea and loving all the great posts… i’ve missed ya!!!! Im back now though! Hope you had a great Tgiving!

  17. November 30, 2011 12:54 am

    it’s so fun to look at your trees and remember reading about them as you made them. this made me feel warm and fuzzy. almost like i had been there. like being a part of the process. seeing the fruition of all the projects you’ve written about. so very cool.

  18. December 1, 2011 12:20 pm

    Your tree topper is beyond adorable!

  19. December 2, 2011 2:47 am

    Wow, I love all of the fancy tree toppers! So pretty! Thanks for sharing, I have been loving the Make It Merry Series!

  20. December 3, 2011 12:38 am

    Kudos for using up something that would otherwise end up in the trash bin. I never would have thought of that. Amazing!

  21. December 3, 2011 12:58 pm

    I love your tree toppers!@ The crown one would be perfect for my daughter’s tree…the little princess she is!

    I am also going to add this to my favorites for the button star…i’ll have to get that made too!

    thanks,
    Natalie

  22. December 4, 2011 6:26 am

    Very pretty! Thank you for joining me at Home Sweet Home!
    Sherry

  23. December 4, 2011 7:34 pm

    Diane, I just wanted to let you know that I’ve featured you today! 🙂
    Hugs,
    Vanessa

  24. December 7, 2011 2:55 am

    that topper is so cool! i love your tree- it’s beautifu! found you through meridian rd today/ 🙂

  25. December 9, 2011 2:51 am

    Adorable toppers! Thank you for linking to the Christmas Party at Potpourri Friday!

  26. December 18, 2011 8:59 pm

    love love love your toppers!

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas Tree | Project Possessed
  2. {nifty thrifty things} » {nifty thrifty sunday #34}
  3. 21 Button DIYs for Christmas
  4. Fun Ideas for Tree Toppers - Savvy KidsSavvy Kids

Leave a comment