Skip to content

wine cork stamps

October 28, 2011

The other night I was sifting through the greeting cards I’ve received through the year to use the pretty fronts for making Christmas tree ornaments.  Soon I had a pile of discarded plain backs.

Whatever could I do with these to avoid the dreaded recycling bin?  Hmm.  How about applying some pretty stamped designs?  And use them for more Christmas tree ornaments!

I’ve been trying to save wine corks for making custom stamp designs, but so far have only accumulated 3.  But that’s still enough opportunity for creative expression.  I just used a box cutter to carve my design in the cork surface.  Straight cuts, easy.

I was going for math symbols ( < * = ) but my negative space concept on the = didn’t quite work.

I used nail polish for the color application.

The uneven surface of the cork makes each transfer slightly unpredictable.  And the consistency of the nail polish contributes to the irregular patterns.

While I had my supplies handy, I used my previously tested household-item stamping tools too.  A toothpaste tube cap…

and a button.

I particularly like mixing these geometric patterns with other more traditional paper styles for my craft projects.

What fun!

Thank you for dropping in, I appreciate your company so very much!

.

.

.

sharing with
Anti-Procrastination Tuesday at New Nostalgia
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring
Show off your Cottage Monday at The House in the Roses
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Craft Craze at I Gotta Create
Fridays at Remodelaholic
28 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2011 3:06 am

    How interesting…I’ve never heard of using the corks for stamps…a great idea..
    I LOVE wine corks and just ordered more off Ebay…:)

  2. October 28, 2011 3:34 am

    Diane, this is sheer BRILLIANCE!

    *thunderous applause*

    LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! This idea of yours! Now, I know what to do with all the wine corks I end up throwing out.

    Also, I love your usage of the toothpaste cap and button! Love all the various shapes and patterns that each stamp makes.

    What fun!

    Thanks so much for sharing, dear friend. You ALWAYS inspire me!

    Have a great Friday!

    X to you and C!

  3. October 28, 2011 9:22 am

    Fabulous and enterprising idea… I might just copy. Corks seem to be disappearing, I notice wine bottles now have those unattractive plastic stoppers. I used to save corks to secure stitches on knitting pins when the knitting was put away. I had loads of them but when I stopped knitting I disposed of the corks, What a sin that was.

  4. October 28, 2011 12:10 pm

    This is very smart! Thanks for stopping by!
    Sherry

  5. October 29, 2011 5:09 am

    Lots of great ideas here. I especially love the Christmassy prints!

    Thanks so much for stopping by and visiting my Christmas blog! It’s lovely to meet you.

    Best wishes and hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    Natasha.

  6. October 29, 2011 2:37 pm

    Your going to have me walking around the house, looking for things to use as stamps! What a fun idea!

  7. October 29, 2011 11:25 pm

    Ohhhhhhh noooooo. I will not start on holiday cards before Halloween.
    Nope. Won’t.
    You can’t make me.

    <– storing the ideas away for the start of November

    Fingernail polish, huh?
    Hmmmmmm…..

  8. October 31, 2011 4:15 am

    Love your cork stamps, great idea. I have a few corks waiting to be made into stamps! Thanks for sharing, Laura Cottage and Broome

  9. October 31, 2011 1:57 pm

    loving the geometric ones too–very modern chic!

    michele

  10. October 31, 2011 10:49 pm

    Diane – Just lovely!
    Michael

  11. November 2, 2011 2:30 am

    That was a fun DIY post! I’ll try doing some geometric stamping using your techniques! Thank you for sharing!

  12. November 2, 2011 6:22 pm

    I love this idea.

    Thanks for sharing

  13. November 10, 2011 12:10 am

    Lovely idea, thanks for sharing!

  14. Manish Tanwar permalink
    July 3, 2012 2:18 am

    Totally agree with u Ron…idea of usage the toothpaste cap and button to make such a awesome design & also LOVE all the various shapes and patterns that each stamp makes.
    Guys just try once & think different to make such good designs……….Really thanks for sharing…

Trackbacks

  1. fun with folded paper « home sweet homemade
  2. Love me some Pinterest… | For The Love of Painting
  3. DIY of the day: easy printmaking « Mr. Kate
  4. 16 idee di riciclo creativo con i tappi di bottiglia | Mestiere di Mamma - educazione, infanzia, maternità sostenibile
  5. Painting | Pearltrees
  6. 22 Inspiring DIY Cork Projects
  7. Så fik tandpastaen lige en ny funktion… | Tinadalbøge.dk
  8. Crafty: Budget Wall Art | www.glim.org
  9. Summer Pinterest Challenge: Paint Party | Young House Love | PINTEREST EXPLAINED
  10. » art for kids
  11. What a corker! «
  12. 30 Adorable And Unexpected DIY Stamp Projects | TokNok Multi Social Blogging Solutions
  13. 30 Adorable And Unexpected DIY Stamp Projects | 2 Story Garages
  14. Estampado fácil | Baskiuts

Leave a comment