Skip to content

paper chains – another look

October 25, 2011

I don’t think I can in good conscience call myself a crafter who works with paper unless I add a paper chain or two to the repertoire.  It’s been sadly absent from my list of projects.

The layer of corrugated cardboard protecting my work surface caught my attention the other day. I wondered how to integrate that rough chunky texture into the nostalgic paper chain of my childhood.

As far as I can tell, there’s not a fast and easy way to peel cardboard apart to get to that intriguing ridged interior.

But there is a wonderful reward on the other side of that work.

Combined with an assortment of colorful paper courtesy of a couple of corporate reports and a second hand world atlas, these chain links are a distant relation to the construction paper versions I made as a school girl.

Maybe this is the grown up flavor.

I’ll go with that.

Thank you so very much for reading today!  I appreciate your company so so so much 🙂

https://poindextr.wordpress.com http://becolorful.typepad.com http://whitespraypaint.blogspot.com http://frugalluxuries.blogspot.com http://www.projectpossessed.com Image Map

.

 

sharing with A Creative Princess and {Primp}

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 3:29 am

    “I wondered how to integrate that rough chunky texture into the nostalgically sweet paper chain of my childhood.”

    OMG, YES! I remember making paper chains when I was a kid (out of colored construction paper and Elmers glue).

    And you did an AMAZING job at intergrating that corrugated cardboard into your paper chain!

    LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! how you also added the Atlas paper into it too – very CLEVER!

    These chains look so cheerful and sweet!

    BRAVA, my friend! Another awesome creation by, The Great Diane!

    Hope you had a flawless Monday! Enjoy your week!

    Much X to you and Cristybella!

    P.S yes, I will sure to drop by for your Progressive Potluck Thanksgiving Dinner Blog-Style. Can’t wait!

  2. October 25, 2011 11:13 am

    O my…this is adorable.
    I, of course, made paper chains when I was a young thing…then made them with MY children, THEN made them with GRANDS and now…I am going to make one much like yours. So cute…..

  3. October 25, 2011 11:50 am

    Seriously cute!
    And you’re right–there’s no ‘easy’ way to peel back that cardboardy stuff.
    Oh, but it was so worth the effort.

    Geeze……now I need himself to save junk mail AND cardboard!
    *laughing* We’re gonna look like a recycling center at this rate.

  4. October 25, 2011 1:19 pm

    You are very talented … the chains are quite something. I’d have a go if I could find some corrugated cardboard… no-one seems to use it where I live.

  5. October 25, 2011 6:48 pm

    Love the way you used the different upcycled patterns and textures in your paperchain!

  6. October 28, 2011 4:51 pm

    What a great idea! I am always looking for ways to use the materials from my recycle bin and this is just inspired!

  7. October 30, 2011 5:45 pm

    I really like your idea of making the chain from corregated paper and using difference patterns and textures! It’s a terrific project!

    Thanks for sharing your project with Potpourri Friday!

  8. November 2, 2011 4:57 pm

    WOW! Oh the number of paper chains I’ve made in my life!! But soooo much fun! Thanks for sharing!

  9. November 2, 2011 8:37 pm

    who doesn’t love a good paper chain?! 🙂 adorable. we usually do them for the countdown to Christmas or New Year…

  10. November 3, 2011 1:28 am

    Looks great with that cardboard in for texture. Thanks for linking up to Share the Love Wednesday!
    Mary

  11. November 4, 2011 8:38 am

    definitely grown up & so festive! i thought they were coffee cup sleeves at first!

  12. November 4, 2011 11:38 pm

    Diane,
    I was happy to feature these fun and pretty paper chains. I thought it would be fun for all diy/crafters to recall their crafting roots. And, I loved the rough cardboard and pretty papers.
    Have a wonderful and creative weekend!
    xxoo – carolyn

  13. November 21, 2011 3:08 am

    I love this! I am an art teacher, so I am always looking for new twists on old favorites!
    Thank you for sharing!
    Kerry at HouseTalkN

  14. November 26, 2011 4:12 am

    Love the texture with the cardboard. Great idea.

  15. December 13, 2011 2:21 am

    Cute idea.

  16. December 15, 2011 12:34 pm

    What a great idea! And it will keep the kids busy for a while! This is a fun idea for Christmas and other holidays too.

Trackbacks

  1. 2 easy tree garlands « home sweet homemade
  2. The Inspiration Board: link party spotlight ~22~ | homework: creative inspiration for home and life

Leave a comment