Skip to content

pearly shells

February 8, 2012

Ark shells are plentiful along the Texas coastline and they were a favorite find when I was a young girl playing along the shore of Galveston Island.

After a crafting fail last weekend, I decided to soothe my bruised feelings with a simple no-fail project, painting some seashells pearly white.

Since natural shells are porous, I applied primer first to minimize paint absorbtion, then brushed on metallic white craft paint.

Then I made a few silvery ones too, while I had the jar of shells handy.  I applied metallic silver spray paint to these and touched up one with silver glitter craft paint.

I’m envisioning a shell and pearl garland, perhaps adorning a vase of branches.  Further contemplation needed.  Until then, I’ll enjoy the soft glow of these pretty ark shells.

Thank you for dropping by, I appreciate your company so very much!

.

.

.

sharing with
Pinteresting Party at Tutus and Tea Parties
The Inspiration Board at homework
nifty thrifty Sunday at nifty thrifty things
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage
11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2012 12:41 am

    Oh, dontcha just cringe and feel washed out when there’s a failed project? *sigh* I’m sorry about that–had one of those myself this past weekend and I was grumpy about it. I mean SERIOUSLY grumpy about it. LOL

    But you chose a good one to bounce back with! How pretty are these?! And now I’m thinking on the shells that we have stuck–oh….just everywhere!! Though, I already added some to paperbead garlands with sea glass which was way cool……and sent on for another person to enjoy (which they do!).

    I like the idea flow from the bowl in front of you–I have that same process!

  2. Linda permalink
    February 9, 2012 12:58 am

    I love the idea of painting the shells. I also can invision a lot of things to which the newly revised shells can be added. This is such an inspiring post. Thank you.

  3. February 9, 2012 2:07 am

    “After a crafting fail last weekend, I decided to soothe my bruised feelings with a simple no-fail project, painting some seashells pearly white.”

    First, just let me share….I have also had things not go the way I had hoped they would go, yet I learned something. I think it’s hard sometimes to put ourselves out there and offer our talents; not sure how they will be received. I can’t tell you how many times I performed onstage and it wasn’t received as I expected it would. Yet, I learned something…there is no such thing as a failed experience because I got out there and gave it my ALL, as I know YOU did, dear friend.

    Diane, I absolutely LOVE these pearl shells!!!!!! OMG….they’re sooooo pretty! I so like the way you have them displayed in that glass bowl.

    And do you know what I always enjoy about your crafts? Every time I see them, I can actually feel the love and joy that went into creating them!

    Yes, dear friend….they do GLOW!

    Thanks so much for sharing!

    Much X to you and Cristybella!

  4. February 9, 2012 9:12 pm

    Love this post!
    Thanks for sharing.
    Love from the Netherlands

    Ingrid

  5. susan Gillewnaters permalink
    February 9, 2012 10:48 pm

    really beautiful pictures.

  6. Pat @ The Best Moments permalink
    February 11, 2012 12:47 pm

    Absolutely love things with pearls. I will have to try something sometime with the shells and pearls, very pretty.

  7. February 12, 2012 8:32 am

    I visit creative blogs on a regular basis. Do you? I have created a new page on my website where I am linking all that is creative, creative blogs that is. I have added you to it. Do you have any referrals to add to this list? http://shelleynovotny.wordpress.com/all-that-is-creative/

  8. whitkae permalink
    October 4, 2012 7:39 pm

    i’m curious, what paint did you used?? i found some hand sized (fake/plastic) shells at Goodwill that are a bit beat up. They are white/off white, but I was considering spray painting them – I think they’d look gorgeous in that white metallic color. do you remember what paint you used??

    • October 4, 2012 8:38 pm

      hi Whitney, I used a metallic white craft paint. I purchased it at hobby lobby, but think it is widely available. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Inspo: Spray paint. | A brand made of Glitter
  2. The Inspiration Board: link party spotlight ~37~ | homework: creative inspiration for home and life

Leave a comment