Skip to content

things I love – apples

December 31, 2011

Tamales on Christmas Eve are a personal favorite.  Our table held all the serving plates within arm’s reach, so I selected very simple decorations. featuring Rome Beauty apples as the primary adornment.  Just scooped out the middles to hold a votive candle for a festive tabletop glow.

I had made these years ago and had forgotten how much I love apples as a focal point.  So it made me wonder — what are other bloggers are doing with apples?

This Golden Delicious apple makes a perfectly lovely foundation for a diminutive floral arrangement.

via Lynchburg Eats

A jumble of apples holding a large candle is a wonderful combination.  Tiny Lady apples are an excellent choice.

via bhg

I’d never thought of making an apple garland before, but the beautiful simplicity completely appeals to me.  The delightful green color of the Granny Smith apple makes this garland look so fresh.

via Factory Direct Craft

Why not create a personalized place setting that is both cheerful and appetizing?  Beautifully round and shiny Rome Beauty apples are a treat for the eye.

via Real Simple

Sometimes the occasion calls for a little extra glamour.  These amped-up glitter-paint embellished Red Delicious apples are just the ticket.

via Domesticated

And sometimes apples are just all about comfort.  This Braeburn apple snuggled in a crocheted cozy looks like a big warm hug.

via CRESCENDOh

These apples give me pause to reflect on the astonishing beauty and versatility of nature.

Wishing you joy and peace in the new year.  Thank you for reading 🙂

.

.

.

sharing with
Transformation Thursday at the Shabby Creek Cottage
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Nifty Thrifty Sunday at Nifty Thrifty Things
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2012 2:25 am

    Diane, I love apples too!

    In fact, they’re my favorite fruit to eat. Fuji’s are my favorite. I enjoy slicing them and then dipping them into natural peanut butter – yummy!

    What faaaaaaaabulous creative ways to use apples!

    OMG…the one by Crescendoh is beyond ADORABLE!

    You always share the BEST stuff here!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR, dear friend!

    Cheers and much X to you and C!

  2. January 2, 2012 2:04 am

    We had tamales, too! With homemade salsa. One of the best presents of the year. 🙂
    I like your apple candles! I think the flower arrangement is so cute!
    Happy New Year!

  3. January 2, 2012 2:10 pm

    Okay–ONCE again you’ve given me something to try!

    This is a good thing cuz the candles are way cute.
    And the simplicity is something I enjoy.
    I don’t DO it well…LOL…..but I enjoy it!

  4. January 4, 2012 5:05 pm

    So cute Diane! Hope you’re enjoying a happy 2012 thus far!
    Love,
    Tracey
    x0x

  5. January 26, 2012 11:52 pm

    I love the tealight ones, I saw a similar thing on a Nigella Lawson show, she must have stolen it from you! I was just wondering how you stop them from browning and going all gooey and gross, for example, at a wedding where they’re out for quite a while?

    • January 28, 2012 3:44 pm

      hi Lisa, I can’t claim to have originated this idea – I saw it somewhere many years ago, but can’t remember the source. I see what you mean about making them many hours in advance and wouldn’t recommend it. The candle wax helps to protect the inside of the apple from getting brown or mushy, but the apple will start to dry out and lose its pretty bright color after a while. I don’t think you could make them more than 4-6 hours in advance if you wanted them to look completely fresh. It’s possible that some apples are sturdier than others – I’ve only used Rome Beauty apples for my candles, haven’t experimented with other varieties.

Trackbacks

  1. DIY för en ljusare första advent | jabbo
  2. 25 DIY Rustic Candles | DI1

Leave a comment