Skip to content

seashell bouquet

February 13, 2013

I’ve been wanting to take a winter trip to the beach for a while now, but schedule conflicts dictate otherwise.  Of course my motivation for going is always the same — to bring home new treasures.  As if this house hasn’t quite achieved its quota of seashells.

.

collage1

.

they’re everywhere you look.  dancing that fine line between collecting and hoarding.

However.  When I spied this cute little arrangement made by the lovely and talented Laurel at Chipping with Charm, a new opportunity materialized

.

Source: chippingwithcharm.blogspot.com via Diane on Pinterest

.

I know, right?!  So clever and adorable!  I decided to make something like it with seashells and shiny beads.  I had one or two glass frogs stashed in a cupboard.

.

glassfrog1

.

I used some narrow gauge utility wire twirled around a screwdriver and some heavier floral wire for support.

.

glassfrog2

.

The only tricky part was selecting a variety of small beach treasures that already had a hole through which I could thread the wire.  I was too lazy to pull out the drill.

.

glassfrog4

.

Thank you for the inspiration Laurel!

.

glassfrog3

.

Great way to (finally) use those clever glass frogs that hardly ever see the light of day in my house.

thank you for dropping by today – hope you’re having a wonderful week.

signature

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2013 6:09 pm

    What a good idea, I have a couple of these and always thought they’s be fun to do something like this, nice job

  2. February 13, 2013 7:32 pm

    “I know, right?! So clever and adorable! ”

    Clever and adorably indeed, Diane! LOVE it!

    And I also love your own unique twist on using the glass floral arranger to present your shells and beads! I especially like the “twirled wire” you added to yours.

    Well done, girl. WELL done!

    X to you and Cristybellla!

    P.S. and I just noticed on your sidebar that you opened your own Etsy Shop. Yaaaaaaaaay! I was so hoping you would. I will place your link on my Favorite Esty Shops on blog. With PRIDE!

  3. February 14, 2013 1:20 am

    Maybe beach this wknd. Happy Valentines Day! ILY

  4. February 14, 2013 9:01 am

    I had to laugh at the ‘bordering hoarder’ about the seashells and treasures.
    ONLY cuz I sooooooo understand it!

    Oh, but this is just too cute!
    I like it muchly.
    And I like the paper ones, too.
    What a brilliant excuse to go treasure collecting. Hahahaha….

Leave a Reply

