Skip to content

printed music

January 14, 2013
tags: ,
by

I learned to play the piano as a child.  Through the years I accumulated stacks of practice music books and music collections.  I also enjoyed playing show tunes in the music books my mommy had purchased even before I could play myself.

.

Today, quite by accident, I found some of those old music books.

EXIF_JPEG_T422

.

such memories!

.

EXIF_JPEG_T422

.

such a treasure trove of vintage printed music!

.

EXIF_JPEG_T422

.

however will I refrain from chopping it up for paper craft projects?

.

signature.

.

.

ps, if you read this may I ask you to please lift my mother, Linda, in your prayers?  She is working so hard to find courage and peace in her current struggle with an extraordinarily debilitating injury.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2013 9:03 pm

    “I learned to play the piano as a child.”

    OMG…so did I, Diane!!!! I took it for years and yet, cannot remember how to play it for the life of me.

    Such lovely images you share with us today. And seeing them brought back memories for me when I played. I had several of those Schirmer’s Library of Musical Classic books myself!

    “however will I refrain from chopping it up for paper craft projects?”

    Oh, I think you should because I can only imagine the really wonderful things you can create!

    And yes, dear friend…I will most definitely pray for your beloved mother, Linda, trusting that she will be well.

    ((((((((((((((((((((((( Linda )))))))))))))))))))))

    X to you and Cristybella!

    • January 14, 2013 9:25 pm

      thank you Ron xoxo. I have been here in Tulsa with my mommy since Saturday. It will be a very long road to recovery, if she is able to make it through. It is a trying time and I feel so helpless. Prayer and love are the only instruments I have.

  2. January 15, 2013 5:03 am

    Oh no. *sigh* I’m so sorry to hear this about your mother. I’m glad you’ve made the journey–and yes…..I’ll be praying for her and for you and yours. Hard times, no doubt.

    I’m another one who played on the piano. And there’s nothing like a good sheet of music on display…..even if it’s in bits. Oh, gosh…..that begs me to find the box that holds my little reserve. Darn good thing it’s saved by the number of steps I’d get to descent–safe for now! LOL

    *sending hugs and prayers for the mom*

    • January 15, 2013 12:12 pm

      thank you Mel, I do tell her that people are praying for her and it gives her comfort. hope you are still on the road to recovery yourself! xo

  3. January 15, 2013 11:56 am

    Oh – I didn’t have the opportunity to learn piano as a child, but I sure have learned music and learned to love it. I started to take piano lessons just a few years back – it goes incredibly slow and my son will soon surpass my skills – but I am happy to finally be able to play! I have just got to the point where I can sit down with a brand new piece of music and… play it! Not perfectly – but the joy of being able is there🙂

    Yes, please, refrain from chopping the papers! I have some old music scores from before I was born (mom is a music lover too) and while I had numerous ideas on how to use them in crafts – I couldn’t. I just made copies and use the copies🙂

    Sending you healing thoughts, prayers and hugs for your mom – and for you too!

  4. January 18, 2013 7:29 am

    Thinking of you and yours……and continuing to send prayers.
    Take care of you in all this, eh?
    *hugs*

    • January 18, 2013 12:02 pm

      thank you Mel, means so much. xoxo

      • January 23, 2013 10:03 am

        *hugs* Still praying…..still hoping. And I sure hope you’re taking care of you.

  5. January 26, 2013 5:55 pm

    Hello I wanted to inform you that I have nominated you for a versatile blog award.

Leave a Reply

