Skip to content

mimicking nature

September 16, 2012
tags: , ,
by

A few trees are dropping leaves in the yard now and I collected some pretty varieties last weekend and pressed them.   They’re so lovely I was inspired to make paper leaves mimicking the hues of nature.

The sassafras tree leaves can become very large.  This is a medium sized leaf.

A light wash of watercolor paint, then assorted paint splatters.  I added veins of cotton thread.

The sweet gum tree has petite pointed leaves.

I wove together strands of a crumpled brown paper bag with a few slices of colorful paper for a festive tartan look.

Another sassafras.  I like the large irregular shape.

I’ll see what they become after I make a few more.

Hope you had a lovely weekend!

.

.

.

sharing:  BNOTP, Craftberry Bush
3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2012 5:39 pm

    Diane, your creativity and originality continue to amaze me!

    THESE. ARE. FAAAAAAAAAABULOUS!!!!!!!!

    Honestly, in the first and last photo, I can’t tell the difference between the real leaf and the paper leaf! Love your use of string for the veins. And the colors you used to give the splatter effect are truly awesome because they look so real!

    Way to go, girl!

    Hope you had a lovely weekend!

    Much X to you and Cristybella!

  2. September 17, 2012 6:20 pm

    Okay……these are awesome. Seriously awesome.
    Dunno how you’ll use ’em or where–but it’ll be cool, no doubt about it!
    I’d say I could do these, but I know what happens when I try to paint. LOL I think I could handle splatters–until I would wanna smear ’em with my fingers….which really wouldn’t work so much for the leaves. LOL

    They really are awesome!
    Ohhhhhh…….maybe for Thanksgiving!
    For sure for fall…… I’d say Halloween, but I think everything should be about Halloween….LOL

  3. October 8, 2012 11:47 am

    very Creative Diane. I can see these framed or a beautiful garland. The best part is that they will last for a looooong time…;)

Leave a Reply

