Skip to content

hora feliz

July 14, 2012
tags: ,
by

a couple of years ago my lovely sister-in-law gave me some clippings from her herb garden,  among them, a fragrant and hardy chocolate mint.  The plant has grown a lot since then — two large flowerpots full near the pool.   The sweet smell of its leaves often breeze their way over to my lawn chair when I’m outdoors and  I’ve frequently thought I should make a mojito.

.

About a month ago, a lovely friend gave us a bottle of Brugal Extra Viejo when she returned from Casa de Campo in the Dominican.  Hora feliz (aka happy hour) had arrived.

Oh my goodness gracious.  Summer sweet deliciousness over ice.

The chocolate mint leaves steeped in simple syrup make this cocktail over-the-top amazing.  Here’s a link to the mojito recipe.

Thank you for dropping in – I hope you’re enjoying your weekend!

.

.

.

Joining the MM link party at Between Naps on the Porch
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    July 15, 2012 4:37 pm

    That sounds so refreshing. Gotta try it. Thanks for sharing.

  2. July 16, 2012 9:36 am

    Yum! That does sound refreshing! Thanks for sharing the recipe, Diane!🙂
    Hugs to you! Vanessa

  3. July 16, 2012 7:28 pm

    …k……if there’s a ‘non-alcoholic’ kind, maybe…. I like mint! And I sorta like chocolate, sometimes……..on rare occasion…….

    I think I wanna try that syrup–I wonder if that’s what you add elderflower to and end up with a ‘cordial stuff’……. I’m gonna haffta ask he-who-drank-elderflower-cordials.
    LOL I wonder about the darnedest things, huh?!

  4. July 17, 2012 2:00 pm

    OMG, Diane, between your enticing description and your alluring photo, my mouth is watering.

    That sounds and looks faaaaaaaaaabulous! Especially because it’s over a 100 degrees here today, and the thought of sipping that cool drink sounds heavenly!

    A dear friend of my in Florida had an herb garden and she too grew chocolate mint leaves. The smell was divine. My two favorite tastes together!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Cheers!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  5. July 17, 2012 10:41 pm

    first of all, there is such a thing chocolate mint leaves?!?!?!? whaaaaat

    and secondly, mojitos could be my fav thing. ever. they have a pineapple mojito that is out of this world.

Leave a Reply

