Skip to content

seascape

June 30, 2012

nature inspires us at every turn.  with color, sounds, textures, fragrances.

heart shaped brain coral

this lovely piece looks like it is stitched of delicate white lace.

small conch

the curvilinear contrast of the points and spirals on this pink conch is mesmerizing.

Both sea treasures contributed to my inspiration for this geometric stitching on paper–

thread twisting

I’ve been experimenting with this stitching method of twisting thread in my little paper stitching samplers – it makes for the most interesting and irregular angles in the finished products.

 

Thank you so much for your company!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2012 7:25 pm

    Yaaaaaaaay! I was so anticipating and hoping you’d post today, Diane!

    Welcome back, my friend!

    Love your opening line….

    “nature inspires us at every turn. with color, sounds, textures, fragrances.”

    You are sooooo right, it does. One of the things I enjoy about nature are essential oils, which are essences/fragrances of plant and flower life. I use them a lot and really enjoy them. They’re very power.

    WOW! What a stunning piece of coral! And I’m lovin’ the heart shape. Yes, it does look like it is stitched out of lace! The pink conch shell reminds me of when I lived in Florida and collected them. What a beautiful point on the one you show here.

    I really like the blend of the two colors you used in your paper stitching. How creative you are!

    Hope you had a wonderful time on your vacation. Looking forward to seeing your photos, I’m sure they’re faaaaaaaaaabulous!

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    X to you and C!

  2. July 5, 2012 6:19 pm

    Okay…..I like the card even though it’s NOT EVEN. LOL

    I might have to rethink my position about even patterns.

    I grew to like crazy quilts, so there IS hope! 😉

Leave a Reply

