Skip to content

southwest guacamole

May 21, 2012
tags:
by

Q:  what do you get when you cross an avocado and a lime? 

A:  delicious

But there’s more to the story.

The secret ingredient for southwest guacamole is corn.  Contrary to my previous post about fresh corn, I prefer frozen corn kernels for guacamole.  Just fill the bottom of a heated, dry saute pan with frozen corn and toast over medium high heat.  Not much stirring needed.  Add a chopped jalapeno pepper and salt and pepper when they begin to turn brown.

I would have added some diced onion too if I had one on hand.  Believe it or not, this vegetarian kitchen operates with very few onions.  Go figure🙂

Anyway, while the corn and peppers cool, mash two avocados with a fork and add the juice from 1-2 limes, plus a little more salt and pepper and maybe a dash of cumin powder.

Dice a ripe tomato and you’ve got a bowlful of love.

Mmm hmm.  Trust me, this will become your favorite guacamole.

Thanks for dropping in!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2012 7:25 am

    Yum yum yum! This looks delicious!🙂
    Really makes me miss Houston and good Tex-Mex food! Hehe
    I hope you’re doing well, Diane!
    Hugs! Vanessa

  2. May 22, 2012 10:52 am

    Diane, I wish I had a nacho chip this very second because I would DIP it into the last photo!

    I ADORE guacamole or anything that has avocado in it. However, I never thought to mix it with LIME!

    Sounds and looks DELISH!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend! Hope you’re having a faaaaaaabulous week!

    X to you and Cristybella!

    P.S. awesome photos!

  3. May 23, 2012 7:04 am

    No onions, huh?

    Looks darn good without ’em, frankly.
    We always put lime with the avocado–but we don’t have ’em often enough, in my opinion.
    Maybe I’ll show off your photos and make some happen!

  4. June 18, 2012 8:23 pm

    Hmmmmmm…..I’ll guess that all those goodies of summer have grabbed hold of you and claimed your time.
    Leastwise I’ll hope that’s the case!

    Hoping all is well!!
    (just checkin’…….cuz……)

  5. June 23, 2012 1:00 pm

    this looks AMAZEBALLS.

    i’m finally coming back around from my hiatus from the INTERNETS.. looking forward to getting caught up on your amazing blog my dear.

  6. June 29, 2012 9:56 am

    Yum.. My word that looks good!!

Leave a Reply

