Skip to content

pre-summer garden

April 4, 2012
by

although it is still officially spring for a good while longer, gardens in our neck of the woods are trying to grow as quickly as possible.  The plants need to establish sturdy roots to make it through the long hot summer ahead.  and it’ll be here quick.

in the meantime, there’s plenty to enjoy.  4 monarch caterpillars munching on the butterfly plant (in the milkweed family) at last count, they’re getting big and hopefully we’ll bear witness to the lovely butterflies they become.

Because of the mild winter, or luck, or lots of fertilizer (pick any reason), many of last year’s flowering plants appear to be strong enough to thrive through another growing season.

We always have these pretty little moss roses in containers because they remind Cristy of her mom.  And this blooming succulent, below, is actually from my mom’s garden.  I took a pinch from her plant 15+ years ago — it survives through anything!  And that little vinca sharing the flowerpot didn’t start out there, but it looks too sweet to disturb it.

Last year’s zinnia cutting garden has become a perennial garden, but if we’re lucky we’ll have a few zinnias – most of my seeds didn’t sprout.  However, the salvia sprouts are plentiful and will be large enough to move to a flower bed soon.  I particularly love growing plants from cuttings or seeds.  And I’m not the only one – the squirrels living here  in the yard enjoy planting seeds from their feeders.  We’ve got quite the crop of peanuts (below).

Most of them get pulled up, but I keep a few.  Just for a smile.

This little gardening station near the back door gets morning sun and the porch roof offers protection from the scorching hot afternoon sun.  It’s a perfect place for starting seeds and cuttings.  The ladder is always full.

This time next month I hope to be able to share another peek at the garden – perhaps the perennials will have filled out and we might have a rose blossom or two.  Let’s wish some luck to these little guys – it feels so wonderful to have butterfly caterpillars in the yard.

Thank you for reading – I appreciate your company🙂

We’re off to the Round Top antiques market tomorrow, so if I remember to charge up my camera battery tonight, I’ll try to capture a few sights from the day.

.

.

.

sharing with
Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2012 3:29 am

    I love the caterpillar. My garden is doing the same, unfortunately i haven’t been out there to do enough so far, i’ve been too busy with my other interest of sewing.

  2. April 5, 2012 4:24 am

    I also enjoy growing from cuttings and seeds, Your planting station looks lovely.

  3. April 6, 2012 9:42 am

    Wow!!! Monarch wanna be–WILL be soon. How cool is he?!

    And wow…..I’m just surfacing from the depths of the dark to play in dirt here, after playing in dirt at the sisters….. I’m on a roll!! How pretty and how cool are those peanut plants! 🙂

  4. April 7, 2012 7:09 am

    Your garden is awesome. I just love your photos and the caterpillar especially. You have inspired me to get outside and start digging. This is such a wonderful post! I would love it if you would share this at our WIW linky party. Hope to see you there.

    Paula
    ivyandelephants.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

