Skip to content

things I love – ruffles and romance

March 11, 2012

Almost two years ago I read this blog post by Vicky Dar, author of Room Service, in which she discusses a strategy for assembling elements of a room suitable for its owner.  The message has stayed with me all this time — she suggests that you select five descriptive terms to define the feeling you want to achieve in your room, then select contents and arrangements that represent these 5 words.  Something about Vicky’s strategy just broke it down for me.

One of the descriptive terms I’m striving to achieve in my own home is romance.

This is what I’m talking about.  This window treatment!

image source, A Beach Cottage

Sarah, author of A Beach Cottage, assembled three layers of curtains with ruffles peeking out from underneath, just like a petticoat.  The mixture of textures, linen and canvas, with the ruffles creates a contrast that defines romance (for me, anyway).

The ruffled edge of this vintage mirror, combined with the imperfections of age carries a built-in sense of romance.  I suppose that’s why so many of us love furnishings that are (or are made to look) time worn.

Image from Simply Me

Ruffled armchair slipcovers offer the quintessential solution for adding a romantic feeling to any room.  How I love this oversized bow.

image via Home

Looking around just now, I’d have to admit that romance is not strongly evident in my home.  But perhaps soon, I’ll take a step to remedy that.  This tablecloth, below, is my inspiration.

image source unknown, via Colors of Beauty

Even though I’m pleased with the progress made in the dining room last year, I’m still using a bed coverlet as a tablecloth and the dining chairs still have their 1980s forest green velveteen seat cushions.  *sigh*

In the opening lines of my favorite novel, Middlemarch by George Eliot, she describes the beauty of the heroine primarily evidenced by the contrast (she used the word relief – which I love!) between the stark plainness of her dress and the softness of her features.  That too, has stayed with me all these years since I read that wonderful book for the very first time.

It helps me understand that loveliness is not about opulence or perfection, but rather about rich shades of contrast.

Thank you for reading!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2012 11:13 pm

    Diane, these images you share pertaining to the term ‘romance’ are just STUNNING!

    Love that second photo of the mirror and water pitcher filled with roses!

    Oh, how romantic is that!

    ” I suppose that’s why so many of us love furnishings that are (or are made to look) time worn.”

    Exactly! I much prefer the look of worn furnishings. That’s why love the ‘distressed look’ in things. They feel as though they have a ‘history’ to them.

    “It helps me understand that loveliness is not about opulence or perfection, but rather about rich shades of contrast.”

    I agree!

    Hope you had a lovely weekend, dear friend. Thank you for sharing this beautiful post!

    Much X to you and Cristybella!

  2. March 13, 2012 2:40 pm

    Nice post. I love those layered curtains with the ruffles peeking out. Now you’ve got me thinking what my 5 style words would be. I just call my style untraditionally traditional. Not sure if that really counts as a style, but it’s working for me at this stage in my life. I have noticed my style changes through the years. You too?

  3. March 13, 2012 5:57 pm

    That is a great strategy. I think it is about contrast. Between colors, textures, time periods~wonderful post!

Trackbacks

  1. word 2 of 5 – seashore inspiration « home sweet homemade
  2. things I love – math and science « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

