Skip to content

painted driftwood

January 23, 2012

The warm winter days have softly been suggesting a trip to the Texas seashore.  Our favorite stretch of sand is almost always deserted in the winter and we’re usually fortunate to bring home some wonderful ocean treasures to add to our collection.  On this trip, we happened to find plenty of driftwood.

So today I pulled out a paintbrush and some acrylic paint, inspired by the wonderfully talented Michele at michele made me.  I loved the way she painted her twig trees — see?

twig tree by Michele Made Me

Just the thing to brighten up a bowl of driftwood.

Artistic interpretations notwithstanding, they’re cute as can be and oh so easy :)  Every time I glance at this bowl of softened, weathered wood pieces with the brightly colored patterns, I can almost hear the sea breeze.

Thanks so much for the inspiration, Michele!  And thank you for dropping by for a visit🙂

.

.

.

sharing with
Sunday’s Best at My 1929 Charmer
Just Something I Whipped Up at The Girl Creative
6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 1:13 am

    First, I just stopped by Michele’s blog to take a peek and WOW….what a great blog! I love the way she has it designed – clean and simple.

    Second, I LOVE your driftwood creations, Diane!

    They ROCK!

    They totally made the driftwood come alive. The colors are faaaaaaabulous!

    And it’s funny, because I’m looking at your beautiful photographs and can hardly believe it’s winter there. We finally got some snow this weekend and it’s FREEZING cold. But you know me….I love it! However, tomorrow it goes from the 20’s back up into the high 50’s.

    Hope you enjoyed a wonderful weekend, my friend.

    X to you and C!

  2. January 23, 2012 1:19 pm

    Totems–they look like a bowl full of totems. And isn’t that wee tree adorable?! Wow what a creative soul. And I’m speaking for the both of you.

    I don’t paint.
    Maybe with fingerpaints when I’m allowed. LOL Perhaps today is the day to ‘allow’ fingerpaints to happen! 🙂

    Whoa………there’s an idea for a cold snowy day! 🙂

  3. January 23, 2012 5:38 pm

    They do look like totems! What a fun way to add color.

  4. January 23, 2012 7:17 pm

    What a wonderful idea! I’ve got a pile of driftwood just waiting to be painted.

  5. January 24, 2012 7:00 pm

    Ooh, what a cute idea! I love what you did with the drift wood!🙂
    I hope you’re having a wonderful week, Diane!
    Hugs,
    Vanessa

  6. January 25, 2012 4:20 am

    This is so really cute. What a great way to use drift wood. Out here in the Midwest I don’t stumble to often on driftwood, but I sure am going to keep my eyes open. Really cute idea. Thanks for sharing your inspiration at Sunday’s Best Party!

Leave a Reply

