Skip to content

a caged heart

January 12, 2012

I wanted to use some traditional love imagery in a couple of my valentines, and by chance, I found two discarded keys in a desk drawer. Perhaps they opened a padlock or mailbox at one time.

Old keys take us mysterious places.  So I followed that notion with one my my paper heart shapes. I’ve been using a heart-shaped candy box as a template to cut my valentine shapes from junk mail card stock.  I covered one side with an old Italian map, pure romance!  Then wove a string cage on top….

and finished knotting all around the edges adding a dot of glue at each tie.

Then added that touch of mystery.  A gilded key (really just glitter spray, but gilded sounds so much more mysterious).

I tied the ribbon through corrugated cardboard with a piece of hand painted art paper covering the top.  Glued the pink heart to the map heart.

voila ~ a caged heart with a gilded key.

The back side is covered with plain brown paper (used grocery bag) to write my valentine message.

Hope you’re having a wonderful week and please check back for more valentines in progress!

.

.

.

sharing with
It’s a Party at A Creative Princess
nifty thrifty Sunday at nifty thrifty things
Creative Me at The Southern Institute
Share the Love at Very Merry Vintage Style
The Inspiration Board at homework
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
Share Awesomeness at The 36th Avenue
Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage
8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 1:38 am

    *thunderous applause*

    Diane, this ROCKS!!!! OMG…how ingenious of you to use the old Italian map from Italy and the key!

    Bellissima!

    And I love how you said…..”Old keys take us mysterious places.”….because it’s so true! I especially love coming across those old skeleton keys of times gone by – they’re so cool-looking and I always wonder WHAT they opened.

    Anyway, I adore your creation. It’s so utterly charming and original!

    You GO, girl!

    Hope you enjoyed a wonderful Wednesday!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  2. January 12, 2012 3:42 am

    Geeze. After he comments, there’s nothing left to say!

    Ummm…..nice knots!

    LOLOL

    All joking aside–where DO you come up with these ideas?!
    I was working on snowflakey hearts.
    I’m sooooooooo boring. LOLOL

  3. January 12, 2012 5:58 am

    Love this creative heart Diane. Oh yes, gilded does sound so classy. Very nice!

  4. January 14, 2012 6:41 pm

    Love your blog – so many inspiring ideas. I used to sew alot, and love the effect on paper. I might have to get out my sewing box again.
    Thanks Fiona

  5. January 16, 2012 2:59 am

    Very clever idea. It looks fabulous!
    Coming over from Between Naps on the Porch MM.

    Jeanine

  6. January 19, 2012 1:37 am

    Love this – such a cute heart!

  7. January 23, 2012 8:13 am

    Fantastic! I think I might have to add this to my list of “To-Do’s” for next week! Now I just need to think of a few ppl I can send them to! 🙂

Leave a Reply

