Skip to content

3 kids and a camera

December 11, 2011
by

I was both thrilled and nervous when one of Cristy’s coworkers asked me to take some pictures of her kids.  Not just any pictures.  Christmas card worthy group pictures.

I’ve never taken pictures for anyone else before.  Never.

I diligently scouted the selected public park a week prior and took a few dozen test photos to find a few suitable locations for group photos.  It was cloudy and rainy on my photo test day.

But when the family arrived and I saw how adorable and excited the kids were, I was really happy I had agreed to photograph them.  My nervousness started going away.

I brought along a couple of objects to keep it interesting, the (unbreakable) tree ornaments and a chalkboard.

Because of the bright mid-day sun, not all the locations worked out well.  But the kids were ready to try anything.

They surprised me with their energy and imagination.

And when our time had ended, they wanted to schedule another photo session.  I did too.  It was fun for all of us.  These kids are so adorable!

Best of all, their mom was so happy.

Thank you for dropping by ~ I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend.

.

.

.

sharing with
The Inspiration Board at homework
nifty thrifty sunday at nifty thrifty things
Fridays Unfolded at Stuff and Nonsense
Hodgepodge Friday at It’s a Hodge Podge Life
Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring
8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2011 2:40 pm

    Diane, these photos are faaaaaaaaaaaabulous!

    Aren’t kids the BEST?

    I can actually FEEL their happy and excited energy through your images!

    Especially love that last shot of them holding the ornaments in their hands!

    Well done, dear friend!

    WELL done!

    Have a super Sunday!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  2. marisol permalink
    December 12, 2011 3:06 am

    Oh my dear Diane – you are incredible ! Thank you so much for taking the time and thoughtfulness to catch my babies’ spirits !! They love you so much !
    Thanks again !

  3. December 12, 2011 5:05 am

    Lol! Talk about Baptism by fire! Christmas cards with kids – you never know what you’re gonna get. You did a fantastic job! The kids are adorable, and your chalkboard and ornament ideas were great. I especially love the angle of the photo looking down at all three – super creative! You’re a natural.

  4. December 12, 2011 5:07 am

    Oh, I also suppose I am biased. I am not a fan of traditional kids ‘portrait’ pics. I have not taken Bentley to get a picture done by a professional photographer since he was 18 months (uh, he’s over six now….). I love the action/in the moment pics. They display the spirit of the child much more clearly then sitting and facing the camera with a forced smile.

  5. December 12, 2011 1:38 pm

    Okay–very cool photos. And yup–definitely captured their energy and enthusiasm, which is awesome.

    These are the kinda photos mom’s treasure forever, yaknow. Well done, you! (and them…and YOU!)

  6. December 12, 2011 4:22 pm

    I’d put any of those on a Christmas card! I think you’ve found a new sideline business for yourself!

  7. December 13, 2011 9:33 pm

    Really good photos. Nice eye!

  8. December 14, 2011 3:49 am

    Adorable pictures!! You are so sweet to take them!!!
    XO
    Kristin

Leave a Reply

