Skip to content

silvery finish for a dainty tray

December 8, 2011

I decided to pick up one of those projects today – you know what I’m talking about – the one you’ve been putting off forever.

It started with Santa.  My journey of holiday cheer involves a lot of Santas, actually.  Half of them are on the mantel in the living room and the other half are here in the parlor.

I had to clear away items previously settled on the hutch to give the santas the spotlight they deserve.

One of those items was a little vintage brass tray that I’ve been meaning to refinish.  Purchased it at the Round Top market about 2 years ago with the intent to tone down the yellowish color to something softer.  It was only $5.

Today’s as good a day as any to get started.  Not much of a plan in place, but riding on the crest of my last success with silvering a pair of brass candlesticks, I’m fearless.

Applied a very light layer of metallic spray paint to see how it would look.

I liked that the coverage is not opaque at this point.  So I decided to add a darker dimension with a black latex paint glaze/wash.  I used a very light touch, wiping off most of the glaze to leave only a hint of tarnish in the crevices.

A final spritz of clear gloss spray and now this dainty tray is holding a few shiny objects to celebrate the season 🙂

Don’t know why I waited so long…perfectly easy and perfectly pretty!

.

.

.
sharing with
Tuesday’s Treasures at My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia
Sunday’s Best at My 1929 Charmer
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
Fridays Unfolded at Stuff and Nonsense
Share the Love Wednesday at Very Merry Vintage Style
Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring
Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage
11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2011 1:05 am

    I like it! The tray turned out perfect 😉 Happy Holidays.

  2. December 8, 2011 2:18 am

    Diane, you consistently amaze with with your creativity!

    The hutch with your Santa’s on it is beyond charming. I love that one little Santa sitting on the edge with his legs hanging over the side – he’s so CUTE!

    And the tray came out incredible! Love the black latex paint glaze/wash effect. VERY nice!

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend. This post totally put a smile on my face after a LOOOONG day at work!

    Hope you had an awesome day!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  3. December 8, 2011 3:26 am

    Okay–the tray is cute with the bulbs clustered about. And the Santa altar…LOL….very cute!

    I’ve tried less–the problem is he-who-loves-all-things-shiny……likes MORE. LOL Ah well–if some is good, more is better, eh?

  4. December 10, 2011 10:30 pm

    You did a great job Diane-
    I have that very same tray.

    Now I am inspired!
    Have a great weekend,

    Laura
    White Spray Paint

  5. December 12, 2011 5:10 am

    Great makeover! What would the world be without the power of paint?

  6. December 13, 2011 3:28 pm

    Love the look. You’ve inspired me to pick up an interesting brass item if I like the bones. In the past, I would just pass them by.

  7. December 18, 2011 4:43 am

    Love your tray, awsome finish!

  8. December 19, 2011 12:23 am

    It was worth the wait! I love the new finish and such a thrifty way to do it. I have the same problem, so many projects and never enough to finish them all.
    Great job!

  9. December 19, 2011 4:29 pm

    Thanks for sharing, I love this look! Great job.

  10. December 20, 2011 9:43 pm

    Love this makeover! You’re featured this week at Share the Love Wednesday! Stop by and grab a button!
    Mary @ Very Merry Vintage Style

  11. December 22, 2011 8:53 pm

    Love the makeover. The Santa on to of your hutch is charming, All your santa’s are so cute,

    Your tray is so nice, I’ll have to try this, and the glaze/wash had a really nice effect.

    Thanks for sharing at Sunday’s Best and wishing you very happy holiday’s.

Leave a Reply

